Priorities II

Part of the reason I’ve been confused about what lenses to be looking at for my Rebel T3 is that most fora assume you’re shooting a full-frame sensor like a 1D or 5D.  Standard focal lengths for a crop sensor body are different than standard focal lengths for a full-frame body.  Because of this there are different best-use lenses at each level.  Using this new information and reviews specifically for crop sensor bodies, I’ve put together a good list for my Rebel T3 or a possible future Rebel T2i:

Strategy:  Save money by buying slow but clear zooms.  Use primes when fast lenses are needed.

Ultra-Wide Zoom (optional):  EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM ($859.99)
Standard Zoom (primary):  EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 USM ($1179.99)
Telephoto Zoom (secondary):  EF 70-200mm f/4L USM ($709.99)

Standard Telephoto (primary):  EF 50mm f/1.4 USM ($399.99)
Medium Telephoto (secondary):  EF 85mm f/1.8 USM ($419.99)
Macro and Telephoto (optional):  EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM ($599.99)

If I were going to build an entirely new collection from scratch, my priorities would be as follows: Standard Zoom, Standard Telephoto, Telephoto Zoom. But since I already have some lenses, my priorities are instead Standard Telephoto, Medium Telephoto, Standard Zoom, Telephoto Zoom (The only one I currently have isn’t very good).

  1. #1 by Joshua on August 13, 2012 - 3:38 PM

    I’m of several minds here. On one hand, the BEST lens I could have on my Rebel T3 for a Standard Zoom is the EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 USM. It’s fast and covers the perfect focal range for me. It’s also huge and has a bigass impressive-looking tulip-shaped lens hood. It’s better than the EF 17-40mm f/4L USM but isn’t L-series itself.

    The 17-40mm f/4L USM is cheaper and fits better with the way I take pictures but it also means that I will need a corresponding fast prime (20, 24, 28, or 35mm) for low-light and indoor situations because f/4 isn’t fast enough for that. It’s got the red ring and a nice tulip-shaped hood so it would still look impressive. 😛

    The 20mms are too expensive (and pretty far toward the wide-angle end), the 24mms are of horrible quality, and the 28mms are generally bad on crop-sensor bodies. The 35mm is ideal for this (~48mm on an APS-C body) so that’s what I’d go with if I decided to go with the EF 17-40mm f/4L USM instead of the EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 USM.

    For the Telephoto Zoom, I would like to have the 70-200mm f/4L IS USM. The IS would really help a lot. Unfortunately, that one’s twice the price as the non-IS version. 😦 Also, the f/4 versions of the 70-200 have conical hoods instead of tulip so they don’t look as badass. Still, not much beats the Big White Lens. 😛

  2. #2 by Joshua on August 13, 2012 - 3:47 PM

    Thing is, I know exactly how I’d use each lens. 😛 I’d use the Standard Zoom for general photography in good light, the Telephoto Zoom for longer outdoor work, the Standard Telephoto for general photography at life sizes, portraits, and general indoor or low-light work, the Medium Telephoto for stuff I can’t get close to in low light (like the Small Mammals building at the zoo). The Ultra-Wide would be for landscapes and the Macro for macro work (and since it’s also a telephoto, for available light shots at longer angles, though the 70-200mm f/4L might be better at that in good lighting conditions).

  3. #3 by Joshua on August 21, 2012 - 12:18 PM

    I’ve decided that there are enough reasons to go with the more expensive EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM over the 17-40mm f/4L USM and 35mm f/2. Not the least of which being that with the two-lens setup, I still couldn’t get f/2.8 at 17mm for landscape shots in the dark like holiday light displays and wide indoor shots.

Leave a Reply

