Next Steps

So I told my friend and Brother (and professional photographer) about what the pompous asshole said yesterday.  He, being a Nikon guy with no experience using Canon FD lenses on an EOS body, had to take a look at my gear before he could render a judgment.  After his initial experiments, he concluded that the asshole, though incredibly rude, had a valid point:  the adaptor was turning my otherwise ass-kickingly clear FD lenses to crap.

Moreover, he said that it really wasn’t the adaptor’s fault as ANY glass between the rear element of the lens and the shutter will cause distortion and diffraction.  He said I should continue shooting with my current lenses and doing the best corrections I can in digiKam but keep watching eBay and B&H for used Canon EF lenses to replace my FD set.

I currently have $35 in the camera budget.  The first and cheapest lens I want (Canon EF 50mm ƒ/1.8) sells for $120 new, $60 used.  Bleh.

But at least I have an upgrade path in mind:

Ultrawide Zoom:  Current:  None.  Future:  None.
Standard Zoom:  Current:  Canon EF-S 18-55mm ƒ/3.5-5.6 IS II.
Telephoto Zoom:  Current:  Vivitar 75-205mm ƒ/3.8 Macro Focusing Zoom, Future:  Canon EF-S 55-250mm ƒ/4-5.6 IS II, Timeframe:  Later.
Wide-Angle (15mm):  Current:  None.  Future:  None.  Perhaps fill in with a 20, 24, or 28mm prime eventually.
Wide-Angle (35mm):  Current:  None.  Future:  Canon EF 35mm ƒ/2, Timeframe:  Soonish
Standard:  Current:  Canon FDn 50mm ƒ/1.4.  Future:  Canon EF 50mm ƒ/1.8 II, Timeframe:  ASAP.
Medium Telephoto:  Current:  None.  Future:  Canon EF 85mm ƒ/1.8 USM, Timeframe:  Soonish.  Perhaps the Canon EF 100mm f/2 instead since it’s a better lens and 85mm isn’t as useful on a crop-sensor body as it is on a full-frame.
Telephoto:  Current:  Canon FDn 135mm ƒ/2.8.  Future:  Canon EF 135mm ƒ/2.8 with Softfocus.  Timeframe:  Later.

I’ve put together an ideal set of Canon lenses based on the Nikon lenses that my friend and pro carries:

Ultrawide Zoom:  Canon EF 16-35mm ƒ/2.8L II USM
Standard Zoom:  Canon EF 24-70mm ƒ/2.8L II USM
Telephoto Zoom:  Canon EF 70-200mm ƒ/2.8L IS II USM
Wide-Angle (15mm):  Canon EF 14mm ƒ/2.8L II USM
Wide-Angle (35mm):  Canon EF 35mm ƒ/1.4L USM
Standard:  Canon EF 50mm ƒ/1.2L USM
Medium Telephoto:  Canon EF 85mm ƒ/1.2L USM
Telephoto:  Canon EF 135mm ƒ/2L USM

But considering the “ideal set” is all L-series and all but two are over $1000, I doubt I’ll ever get there.  😛  At this point, I’d be happy to afford any EF or EF-S lens.  XD

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

