Elitism is not helpful

I’ve been reading the photographic fora lately for advice and such.  I posted a question about relative IQ between older FD lenses with converter and newer EF lenses.  A pompous asshole answered.

He said, “Why are you trying to use old FD lenses?  They’re crap on EOS cameras.”  I said, “I have them and can’t afford EF lenses.  Look at my options for a 50mm:  (1) my current FD 50mm f/1.4 with adaptor, (2) the EF 50mm f/1.8 for $120, (3) the EF 50mm f/1.4 USM for $360, or (4) the EF 50mm f/1.2L for $900.  I could maybe afford the $120 lens if I had to but is there really that much IQ difference?”  He said, “Option one is crap because of the adaptor.  Option two is crap because the lens has a plastic barrel and no USM.  Option 3 is crap because the AF quits working after 3 months.  Clearly option 4 is the right answer.”  I said, “Right but $900 is not in my price range.”  He said, “Then why are you in photography?  Try stamp collecting – it’s cheaper.”

Dismissive assholes like this really don’t help me to want to take more pictures.  I was looking for advice on whether or not I should be concerned about using FD lenses on my EOS camera from an IQ perspective, not whether or not I was worthy to own a camera.  😦

,

  1. #1 by Chadwick on June 18, 2012 - 6:33 PM

    Gotta love how you get that crap pretty much wherever you go (though especially on the internet), where the biggest asshole in the room—even if he might be technically correct—is always the loudest one there, and the first in line to give his big thoughts.

    • #2 by Joshua on June 18, 2012 - 9:09 PM

      Well yeah. I mean, everything he said was technically correct. If I were a professional photographer (or trying to be), I would have totally different gear than I do. But I’m a hobbyist. I was asking for advice on how to work with what I had.

Leave a Reply

