My Photography Shopping List

As I’m getting into photography a bit more, I’m finding things I wish I had but don’t currently have.  So I’m making a list here:

  1. Tripod.  Absolute necessity and I don’t have one.
  2. Lens hoods (but I can make my own with a printer and some flexible plastic or heavy paperboard).
  3. Protective bags or hard cases for my lenses (the Vivitar 75-205mm and Canon 135mm have their own already).
  4. Lens cleaning kit (I’ve been using eyeglass cloths).
  5. Spare lens caps (I’m -1 since the FD-EF adaptor only came with one and needs two – it’s been living attached to either of the primes lately for that reason).
  6. A good macro lens (my zooms work okay but are still > 1 foot minimum focal distance, in fact the Vivitar’s minimum focal distance is 6ft at 200mm!).  The Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro is a great value at ~$300 and would be great.  A step up would be the EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM (and a 60mm short back focus lens would be superb for walking around the zoo or State Fair).
  7. Spare SDHC memory cards.
  1. #1 by brendoanne on May 29, 2012 - 7:47 AM

    you have forgotten about extra battery

    • #2 by Joshua on May 29, 2012 - 7:54 AM

      Surprisingly, I have had amazing battery life from the included battery for the Rebel T3. I’ve had some intermittent 4-hour sessions with AF and IS turned on and have still been at ~90% battery when I’m finished. I run out of storage long before I run out of battery. But a spare battery is never a bad idea anyway.

  1. canon lens

Leave a Reply

