A funny thing happened while digging through the camera bag

I found a lens!  One I didn’t know I had!  Well, I knew I had it but I didn’t know what it was.  I planned to sell it with the old film camera body but now I’m tempted to keep it.  It’s a Canon FD 50mm ƒ/1.4 prime.

It fills the gap in my lens collection nicely.  Here’s the current lineup:

Lens Type Adjusted Focal Length Maximum Aperture Minimum Aperture
Canon EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS II Kit Telephoto Zoom 18-55mm ƒ/3.5-5.6 ƒ/32
Canon FD 50mm 1:1.4 Fast Prime / Portrait Lens 80mm ƒ/1.4 ƒ/22
Vivitar FD 75-205mm 1:3.8 Macro Zoom Telephoto Zoom 120-328mm ƒ/3.8 ƒ/22
Canon FD 135mm 1:2.8 Telephoto Prime 210mm ƒ/2.8 ƒ/22
  1. #1 by Joshua on May 16, 2012 - 6:54 AM

    If I set the camera on Tv (shutter priority) or M (manual) with the 50mm ƒ/1.4 lens, I can take very clear low-light pictures with a fast shutter speed. I prefer Tv for that because then I don’t need to muck about with the ISO speed while I’m trying to capture fennec foxes (which never stay still for longer than a few seconds). After some testing yesterday, the clear spots in the lens are at ƒ/8 for d < ∞ and ƒ/11 for d = ∞

  2. #2 by Joshua on May 16, 2012 - 8:28 AM

    I’m going to attempt to repair the 75-205mm lens tonight. It’s not doing me any good right now because of the stuck aperture so if I break it, I’m not out any usability. Also, having it professionally repaired isn’t worth is because I can get a used one in working condition on eBay for $10.

    • #3 by Joshua on May 16, 2012 - 8:07 PM

      I fixed a stuck aperture and a loose aperture spring. I now have a working (if really really shaky) long telephoto zoom lens. 🙂

  3. #4 by Joshua on May 18, 2012 - 8:42 AM

    Took two portraits with the 50mm prime (ƒ/6.3, portrait mode) last night. I’ll see how they come out.

  4. #5 by Joshua on May 18, 2012 - 8:44 AM

    Also, a “nifty fifty” can refer to any 50mm prime lens. However, the Nifty Fifty specifically refers to Nikon’s ƒ/1.8G or Canon’s EF ƒ/1.8, specifically. It’s because the ƒ/1.8 seems to give the best value in a 50mm prime. It’s fast enough for most people, good quality, and dirt cheap. The faster ƒ/1.4s are technically superior but also more expensive and not as popular.

  1. canon lens

Leave a Reply

