VLC multithreads decoding

Note the 4 threads for vlc.

Note the 4 threads for vlc.

  1. #1 by Joshua on January 19, 2012 - 6:43 PM

    This screenshot caused me to inquire how much RAM Linux was seeing: 6GB. The problem is that this machine has 12GB. I checked BIOS: also only 6GB. That’s generally not a good thing. I hope it just needs to be reseated. I’d be slightly disappointed if I had to replace some DDR2 SDRAM. đŸ˜¦

    • #2 by Phillip on January 20, 2012 - 5:43 PM

      You may want to recheck what type of memory it is. For some reason, I seem to recall the i series using DDR3, then switching to DDR2, and back to DDR3. Further, if it’s in multiples of 3 that leads me to believe that it’s DDR3, since I don’t really think that they did that with DDR2. Anyways, whatever one it happens to be, memory is fairly cheap now if it is bad.

  2. #3 by Joshua on January 24, 2012 - 6:10 PM

    No. I’m just crazy. I found my paperwork for the machine and even the pictures I took of the motherboard when the machine first arrived. 6GB. Not 12. Dunno why I thought I had 12. I have 3x 2GB DDR3 PC3-10600 SDRAM modules.

Leave a Reply

