I wish I were a Commodore Amiga…

(To the tune of the Oscar Mayer Wiener song)

I like AROS.  I like Eric Schwartz.  I really want to be an Amiga fan.  But I’m just so used to UNIX and all my GNU tools like GIMP that don’t exist (or have any real parallels) in the Amiga world.  But I can show my support in spirit:

My attempt at making Gnome 2.32.1 look like Amiga Workbench 4.0

My attempt at making Gnome 2.32.1 look like Amiga Workbench 4.0

There’s so much anachronism here:  The wallpaper is from AmigaOS 3.9 while the desktop layout and window borders mimic AmigaOS 4.  There’s a boatload of GTK2 controls that can’t be made to function like their Amiga counterparts no matter how hard you sling pixmaps at them.  Also, there’s currently no Gnome applet that lets you display system usage stats in plain text on a panel, nor one that lets you display arbitrary text like “Amiga Workbench.”  At least the icons are actually from Amiga OS.  Which explains why all the GNU tools that lack Amiga equivalents are defaulted to their Tango icons.

Me editing an image in the GIMP after some UI tweaks (top menu, moving the scroll buttons, desktop background gradient, etc.)

Me editing an image in the GIMP after some UI tweaks (top menu, moving the scroll buttons, desktop background gradient, etc.)

And, for a Before and After, the final wallpaper at 1280x960

And, for a Before and After, the final wallpaper at 1280x960 (Upsample bicubic from 720p, white balance, normalize, and unsharp mask 5-5-0)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I took an illustration off of DeviantArt and recolored it to fit the Amiga OS desktop look.

I took an illustration off of DeviantArt and recolored it to fit the Amiga OS desktop look.

A Rainbow of New Colors!

A Rainbow of New Colors!

Yep!  That's a rainbow of colors alright!

Yep! That's a rainbow of colors alright!

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

