Minecraft 1.8 on our server

Alright, so as you may know (because I’ve been stumbling links and video lately), Minecraft [Beta] 1.8 is releasing soon (I think the most recent news I heard said Monday).  What you may not have heard is that 1.8 is not going to be fully backward compatible with older maps.  This isn’t to say that the old maps are scrapped, but rather that with maps created pre-1.8, a fair number of the functions and features being introduced just won’t work/show up.  This means that we’ve reached a point where we can and should ask ourselves:  Do we want to start a new map for the server?

I know traffic on the server is not what it once was.  Perhaps we have other responsibilities, or simply built what we wanted and moved on.  Likewise, it’s possible that any works we establish will be negated again with the release of the full (non-Beta) version of the game.  Still, I ask all of you to participate in the poll, and decide whether we start a new land.

In the event of a new map, I suggest we still have a timeframe in which to save pictures or diagrams of anything we built that we feel deserves saving.  Also, perhaps get Josh to zip up the map such that we can get copies if we so desire.

  1. #1 by Joshua on September 8, 2011 - 4:51 PM

    The main reason I quit is because I found I couldn’t build what I wanted. So a new map would be pretty cool. I can totally zip up the world to make copies, but it’s 3.5G at the moment and doesn’t compress well, so it would have to be distributed over FTP or on DVD. I can also save the Minecraft Overviewer files. Those aren’t nearly as big but you need a web server to view them (it makes calls to Google Maps to render the tiles).

    • #2 by Christa on September 9, 2011 - 11:23 AM

      What couldn’t you build?

      • #3 by Joshua on September 10, 2011 - 8:07 PM

        1/3 height carpeted tiles.

        • #4 by Chadwick on September 13, 2011 - 7:59 AM

          So where does this update leave you? Just gonna go a different route with it?

          • #5 by Joshua on September 13, 2011 - 8:21 AM

            Yeah pretty much. 🙂

  2. #6 by Phillip on September 8, 2011 - 11:08 PM

    Gah, one of the yeah votes was from me but I wasn’t logged in.

    • #7 by Chadwick on September 9, 2011 - 8:33 AM

      Silly Phil

      • #8 by Phillip on September 9, 2011 - 4:20 PM

        Apparently, if you happen to log in on another computer or a phone or something, it’ll log you off. Or at least it does for me.

        • #9 by Chadwick on September 9, 2011 - 9:45 PM

          It’s always just logging me off randomly. Like I just reloaded this page, but I see now I’m not logged in.

  3. #10 by MHook on September 9, 2011 - 9:52 PM

    As i may have been the one who initiated the thought process with Chad about restarting the server; I had brought up the idea to him a bit back, I’m somewhat in favor. The server world as is is getting cluttered with abandoned projects, things no one around knows what they are. It’s full of neat and interesting things, but I think its time to start new, I say we wipe it clean and start again, then we can have new unfinished crap littering the landscape

    • #11 by Christa on September 14, 2011 - 2:24 AM

      To new unfinished crap littering the landscape!

      • #12 by Joshua on September 15, 2011 - 8:49 AM

        Hooray!!! 😀

  4. #13 by Chadwick on September 15, 2011 - 4:12 PM

    So, 1.8.1 is officially out, and Bukkit has stable builds; we’re just waiting for one of the stable builds to get promoted to a Recommended build. Does Joshy need to do anything in advance of a changeover, that could get rolling before that release?

    • #14 by Joshua on September 17, 2011 - 11:04 AM

      Well, the plan was to shut down the existing server, tar the whole thing up and archive it, and unpack a brand new server with Bukkit 1.8. Does that work?

      • #15 by Chadwick on September 17, 2011 - 8:06 PM

        Sounds like a plan.

      • #16 by Chadwick on September 18, 2011 - 12:51 PM

        Thought: I’m not sure all (or even many) of our plugins will work with the new 1.8. Since Minecraft comes with the built-in whitelist, do we want to just run the server without the plugins until we can get a full set that are guaranteed compatible?

        • #17 by Joshua on September 19, 2011 - 7:14 AM

          That sounds reasonable to me. As far as I know, the map format is the same, though, so Minecraft Overviewer should still work. But I am going to make a tiny tweak to it: Right now it runs out of the Minecraft owner’s crontab at 0700 and takes 7 minutes to complete. It runs at foreground priority, same as the Minecraft server. I was going to move it to the Minecraft Owner’s daily batch job instead. That means it will run with the daily cronjobs at startup (anywhere from 0500 to 0700) from Anacrond at background priority. It will probably take longer to complete but it won’t take CPU cycles away from Minecraft server this way. It wouldn’t be a problem but the box is a repurposed desktop and so has only a single CPU core.

          • #18 by Chadwick on September 19, 2011 - 9:49 AM

            That sounds entirely reasonable.

  5. #19 by MHook on September 18, 2011 - 7:51 PM

    i’d say sounds good to me

  6. #20 by Joshua on September 20, 2011 - 8:05 AM

    I’m good to migrate to 1.8 at any time then. I just need the go-ahead from Chad and I’ll shut down our current instance, tar it up, and deploy a vanilla Craftbukkit 1.8 build with no plugins for now.

    • #21 by Chadwick on September 20, 2011 - 12:20 PM

      Go for it. I can’t wait.

    • #22 by Chadwick on September 20, 2011 - 12:35 PM

      Oh, and would you mind disabling Creepers again? Everyone else can stay, but I hate random explosions. And I’m not sure if you want to roll out the Craftbukkit yet, since there’s still not a recommended build. But then, I’m not sure how difficult it is to integrate that after the fact, so if it would be difficult, feel free to ignore me; my goal is not to create extra work for you.

    • #23 by Phillip on September 20, 2011 - 9:52 PM

      *cough*pleasewhitelistme?*cough*

      • #24 by Joshua on September 23, 2011 - 7:39 AM

        What’s your login?

        • #25 by Phillip on September 23, 2011 - 10:59 AM

          DieBretter

          • #26 by Joshua on September 23, 2011 - 3:39 PM

            Done.

    • #27 by Christa on September 21, 2011 - 1:57 AM

      I can’t play anyway. It’ll be at least a week.

  7. #28 by Kurt on September 30, 2011 - 10:49 AM

    I’ll need to be whitelisted again: axithmal

  8. #30 by Andrew on October 1, 2011 - 6:46 PM

    good to hear you guys are bringing it back, will have to think about possibly coming back and hanging out on it with you guys.

    • #31 by Chadwick on October 2, 2011 - 11:18 PM

      You should, and stop being such a bum over there…you…you…bum.

  9. #32 by Andrew on October 4, 2011 - 12:18 AM

    U can add me to the whitelist then…. Primaldefense was the gamername.

Leave a Reply

