Beer Recommendation: Buffalo Bill’s Orange Blossom Cream Ale

Orange Blossom Cream Ale

Orange Blossom Cream Ale

I don’t usually care for orange flavors.

But as a rule, I like cream ales.  So I tried this one when I saw it.  I liked it.

It pours clear yellow from the bottle, building a very thin head that dissipates quickly, leaving no trace.  The aroma is of orange peel and aromatic hops.  The first sip is of citrus tartness underscored by mellow hop bitterness.  The mid taste is of orange soda with a hint of bitter hops.  The rear taste reinforces the hops while toning down the orange.  The finish is long, starting with the bitter hops slowly changing to floral, then the orange essence asserts itself one last time.  Then, when you expect it to fade, the pale malts and wheat finally show up and take over.

This is way on the light side for me – not much beer flavor in this.  But I still recommend it because it’s the only orange beverage I find myself liking.  It’s very refreshing and the orange and hops are not at all cloying or perfumy.  I highly recommend this beer to beer noobs as well as people who might not like orange but are willing to try something new.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

