Decaffeinating… 11th attempt (I think)

So I’m once again trying to quit coffee.  My doc has been after me to quit for a while.  But now I have a bit of a better incentive thanks to my girlfriend, Taylor.  😉

  1. #1 by Chadwick on August 8, 2011 - 11:27 PM

    You mean this won’t just kill you?

    • #2 by Joshua on August 9, 2011 - 7:24 AM

      No, sadly it will just make me feel like crap and completely ineffective at work. 😦 I stopped at Stone Creek this morning for a double espresso. I feel loads better now, physically, but rather disappointed in myself emotionally. I wanted to show Taylor that I had willpower and that she meant more to me than coffee… Also, WB to the Blog. XP

  2. #3 by Phillip on August 9, 2011 - 10:20 AM

    Caffeine isn’t my friend; it tried to kill me. So, as it stands, I just need a little pick-me-up when I get up which obviously has to be a soda if we have no orange juice.

    Why don’t you try getting off of caffeine like smokers get off cigarettes?

    • #4 by Chadwick on August 9, 2011 - 4:21 PM

      Caffeine patches and gum?

      • #5 by Phillip on August 9, 2011 - 5:34 PM

        I know they have at least one of those.

  3. #6 by Christa on August 9, 2011 - 4:21 PM

    I couldn’t do it. Must have coffee! This might be a little off base, but you shouldn’t set goals for yourself to prove how strongly you feel or how much you like/love someone. You’ll only disappoint you and the other person. At least that’s how it always goes for me.

  4. #7 by Joshua on August 9, 2011 - 5:14 PM

    That’s pretty much what Taylor said. She has ideas to work around it anyway so I can keep drinking coffee. She understands. Which is awesome.

  5. #8 by Joshua on August 10, 2011 - 8:15 AM

    Also, I’m trying an experiment: Instead of coffee, I’m drinking Monster all this week. Dunno how long it takes to complete the turnover of chemicals there…

    • #9 by Christa on August 14, 2011 - 1:18 AM

      I think that sounds worse for your health.

      • #10 by Joshua on August 14, 2011 - 10:38 AM

        Well, it’s certainly different. Monster makes me terribly hyper. At any rate, we’ve found that it helps if I drink less coffee, only drink it every other day, and drink lots of pineapple juice. Which works for me. ’cause I really can’t give up coffee.

Leave a Reply

