Beer Recommendation: Rogue Chocolate Stout

Chocolate Stout Label

Rogue Chocolate Stout

I saw this one on the shelf at Discount Liquor and grabbed it.

Rogue Chocolate Stout pours black from the bottle, building a huge dark brown mixed foam head that dissipates slowly but still leaves enough on top that you get that lovely foamy texture with every sip.  The aroma is of dark roasted malts, crisp aromatic hops, and sweet cocoa.

The first sip is rather bitter, not unlike a pale ale.  The texture is almost as heavy as an imperial stout but not quite.  I’d say on par with an export dry stout.  The mid taste is of cocoa and floral, bitter hops.  The rear taste adds a hint of zesty malts while continuing the hop theme.  The aftertaste is of cocoa and bitter hops.

To be honest, this isn’t my favorite chocolate stout, if only because it isn’t sweet.  It’s very hoppy and that’s a good thing but not something I really like in a chocolate stout.  It’s still an excellent beer and I highly recommend trying it if you’re the kind that likes >75% cacao in your chocolate.  I’d say it would pair well with chilis, spicy barbecued ribs, or an overly sweet dessert.  Or possibly a block of jalapeño cheddar cheese.

EDIT:  The more I drink of this stuff, the more I notice that Rogue’s label always makes me think of this episode of the Penguins of Madagascar.

,

  1. #1 by Joshua on July 10, 2011 - 5:42 PM

    I kinda wish I had a block of jalapeño cheddar right now, actually. That’d be perfect with this beer!

    • #2 by Chadwick on July 11, 2011 - 12:09 AM

      Personally, I prefer my cheddar chipotle.

  2. #3 by Chadwick on July 11, 2011 - 12:23 AM

    Nice to see these again. Especially since I’m drinking more beer these days.

    So if you dislike this chocolate stout for not being sweet, which one(s) would you recommend, either in general, or for being sweeter?

    • #4 by Joshua on July 11, 2011 - 7:52 PM

      Hmm… excellent question. I don’t recall ever having a chocolate stout that I actually liked. The answer, of course, is to buy every chocolate stout that Discount Liquor (and/or Brennan’s) has and each of us sample each bottle.

      • #5 by Chadwick on July 11, 2011 - 9:56 PM

        Lol. I seem to recall not disliking Oscar’s Chocolate Oatmeal Stout. And they’ve got a special limited batch right now. Maybe it should be sampled again now that I don’t balk at beer.

        • #6 by Joshua on July 12, 2011 - 7:29 AM

          I’d say that’s a great idea. Oatmeal stouts tend to be sweeter and creamier anyway. Is it at Brennan’s? If so, I’d either split a bottle sometime or reimburse you if you wanna get one for each of us.

Leave a Reply

