IceKarma’s Law of Program Optimization

<@IceKarma> every program can be shortened by at least one instruction, and every program contains at least one more undetected bug. therefore, any program can be reduced to one instruction which doesn’t work.


http://www.xkcdb.com/?6183

  1. #1 by Chadwick on May 29, 2011 - 9:03 PM

    Well, you know what they say (paraphrasing while drunk here, so bear with me): Perfection is reached not when there is nothing more to be added, but when there is nothing more that can be taken away.

    • #2 by Chadwick on May 29, 2011 - 9:03 PM

      Whoa. My teeth feel weird.

      • #3 by Chadwick on May 29, 2011 - 9:03 PM

        Wait, isn’t IceKarma that girl you were weird at?

        • #4 by Joshua on May 29, 2011 - 9:23 PM

          Hahaha. Yes. I was weird at her. She was being all polyamorous and I was all WTF? And then I went fundie on her and her husband.

          • #5 by Chadwick on May 29, 2011 - 9:26 PM

            Yes. You should not do that. Accept people’s life choices, and do not judge them to their faces (relatively speaking, online) unless they’re invested enough in you to not reject you for it. Like if you had bad things to say about me, I’d just be hurt, and not stop being your friend (unless it was really bad. I guess tact counts for something too).

          • #6 by Joshua on May 29, 2011 - 9:27 PM

            Yeah I kinda learned that. Autism FTL. 😦

          • #7 by Chadwick on May 29, 2011 - 9:29 PM

            Maybe we should map out levels of friendship for you. It’s not until the best levels that you can freely offer your negative opinions without alienating people. And now I kinda want to hug a Joshy in a completely non-sexual way.

          • #8 by Joshua on May 30, 2011 - 7:51 AM

            Honestly that would be great if it worked. I talked about this with the psychologist when it happened and he helped to explain that humans just don’t work that way. I’m slowly learning – I’ve made remarkable progress in 6 months.

            Unrelated: London’s avatar still looks like the Unabomber.

Leave a Reply

