Funeral and Pizza Party

dustpuppy is dead.  I don’t want its stinking, rotten corpse hanging around the house.  But I want to have a bit of a funeral to commemorate its 11 years of service.  I was thinking of doing a pizza party / Sprecher beer party on June 4 at my house with Cataro’s pizza.  I just need to know what time people are available.

Chad – I have a bottle of their new Kriek lambic.  🙂

  1. #1 by Chadwick on May 23, 2011 - 4:49 PM

    Sounds good. I’ve got a couple beers you might enjoy, too.

    • #2 by Joshua on May 23, 2011 - 5:55 PM

      Awesome! I’m also bringing two out of the cellar – they’re both beers my family got me for Christmas (no soy sauce – I promise!) 😛

      • #3 by Chadwick on May 23, 2011 - 6:58 PM

        Lol! But the soy sauce was a great find! No, but I picked up a couple 4-packs a ways back, and neither is my favorite, but you’ve got a broader palate for beers than I’ve thus far acquired. The first is a Sprecher Premium Reserve Belgian-style Abbey Triple, which I didn’t care for as much (too oaty and [trying to remember here] hoppy[?] for me) as I did for the Flying Dog Gonzo Imperial Porter (“Brewed to honor the life of Hunter S. Thompson”). Got two left of each.

        • #4 by Joshua on May 23, 2011 - 7:17 PM

          Yeah, the Abbey Triple is one of my favorites – it’s very sweet and cereal-like from (as you noted) oats and wheat. I don’t really taste a ton of hops in it but I’ll re-evaluate and let you know.

          The Gonzo Imperial Porter sounds awesome!

          • #5 by Chadwick on May 23, 2011 - 8:58 PM

            It might not have been hoppy. I just remember there was something that I didn’t quite care for.

          • #6 by Joshua on May 24, 2011 - 6:46 AM

            I’m voting for the cereality (or “oatiness”). I recall you’re not a big fan of oatmeal. I liken the taste of Abbey Triple to that of Frosted Flakes.

        • #7 by Joshua on May 23, 2011 - 7:19 PM

          Oh and it being a Belgian White Ale, it’s coarse-filtered, meaning the bottom of the bottle is full of dead yeast cells that still contain unfermented sugars as well as bits of wheat, oats, and barley malt. If you pour most of the bottle, then give what’s left a swirl and pour that, the whole glass turns a bit sweeter and less tart, thanks to the yeast carcasses with vacuoles full of maltosey goodness! 🙂

Leave a Reply

