Can you spot the fail?

At work, the only database instance I have write access to is our User Acceptance Testing instance.  It’s where we do our preliminary branding workups.  I’m rapidly proving myself unworthy of write access.

On Thursday, I ran the following query:

UPDATE CBBRAND_SESSION
SET BRSESSION_LOGOUT_URL = 'test',
 BRSESSION_TIMEOUT_URL = 'test';

Can you spot the fail? I’ll give you a hint, it updated 2882 rows. I intended to update 1 row. And yes, I did commit because I failed to notice the “2882 rows updated” result. I spent Thursday afternoon writing a query that would pull the good data out of a combination of reporting and readiness databases into a CSV file and then running a script that looped over 3 arrays to generate update statements to set the brand logout URLs back to the good values.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

