Everything I needed to know…

… about who not to vote for.

Also, tomorrow (Tuesday, April 5th) is the spring election.  Be sure to get out and vote.  If you weren’t sure before, the contempt for Wisconsin’s traditions and values shown by Walker and the rest of the Republicans (like my Senator, Fitzgerald!) in the last couple months should drive home the point that elections do matter.

I don’t think any of you live in my area, so I’ll just say:  if you live in Milwaukee Co. and want my opinion, I don’t know if I trust Chris Abele, but Jeff Stone’s an asshole who plans to continue where Walker left off.  So take that as you will.  You can hopefully find information on many (or possibly all) of your state/county/local races here.

  1. #1 by Phillip on April 4, 2011 - 2:51 PM

    What personally did it for me was the fact that Prosser bitched out Abrahamson and tried to pin it on her. I didn’t always agree with his rulings, but I kind of saw the logic behind them. I still don’t think that judges should be elected though. It just reeks of ripping the impartiality out in favor of politics. I’d probably not have cared one way or another about the Supreme Court race; there are many different ways to interpret an issue that depend in huge amounts of the people hearing the arguments. I’ll also say that I’m kind of worried that whats-her-name doesn’t really have any judicial experience that we can use to see how she’d rule, or how she thinks, or anything like that.

    I’m of the mindset that Milwaukee County is fucked one way or another. But I don’t like Stone, so I’m most likely going to vote for Abele. It can’t be any worse than when Walker was here.

    • #2 by Chadwick on April 4, 2011 - 5:45 PM

      On the matter of electing judges: When it comes to Supreme Court races, I hate—hate—that there inevitably is the ad(s), usually from the more conservative candidate, about how tough on crime they are, and how many criminals they lock up (or, alternately, how their opponent made some ruling that let some “criminal” loose). I just want to scream, every time I see them. I don’t want my judges to be “tough on crime,” I want them to fairly apply the goddamn laws. It’s not even like the Supreme Court’s there just handing out criminal sentences. Appeals are about the legality/constitutionality/procedural issues, not keeping people who’ve been found guilty in jail.

      • #3 by Phillip on April 5, 2011 - 1:01 AM

        No? You mean they don’t usually hear those cases unless there happens to be some question about the case? But yeah, I agree. I would rather see people get off if there were some issue that may have affected the outcome. Also, do they REALLY need to be tough on crime? Is everything really worth responding with a fine/prison/probation? I would bet you that every single person breaks at LEAST 10 laws a day, and really without knowing about it too.

        Just as an example, someone is going 90 mph on the highway and they switch lanes to pass someone. There are 9 possible different ticket situations there: 1) reckless driving (exceeding the speed limit by 25 mph) 2) speeding 20+ mph 3) imprudent driving (too fast) 4) unnecessary acceleration (as stated..but originally meant to give a way to write tickets for doing burnouts) 5) failure to give proper signal 6/7) illegal passing (if you are going above the speed limit, you’re passing illegally OR if you’re passing on the right) 8) following too closely 9) defective speedometer.

        • #4 by Chadwick on April 5, 2011 - 5:28 AM

          And on top of all that, they’re passing the car they need to follow! 😉

          • #5 by Phillip on April 5, 2011 - 10:34 AM

            Pfft. I have no idea what the hell you’re talking about.

            It was only that one time! I’ve gotten better!

  2. #6 by Erin Dailey on April 5, 2011 - 5:49 AM

    Be surprised Chad! This is the first election I’ve paid close attention to all by myself. 🙂 Yay!

  3. #8 by Crazy Dan on April 5, 2011 - 11:50 AM

    I vote for snoopy

Leave a Reply

