The Day of Awesomeness

Part I:  I got to sleep in this morning.  Hooray!

Part II:  I had an excellent shot of espresso this morning (used the single-shot filter today instead of the double).


Part IV:  I’m getting my Royal Arch Mason degree this afternoon in Racine.  I can’t take pics of the degree work itself (obviously) but I’ll send any that are taken at the afterparty.

Anything going on tonight?  I expect to get back from Racine around 5-ish and I’ll be up for anything.  I ended up not going to the piano bar because I don’t like the idea of drinking and driving.

Also:  Have some Quenya:

A Mentat chant about coffee

A Mentat chant about coffee

Nás selmava eressë panyan samanya rumanna.
Nás i erdiva hyavo i sanwi tuvur horta,
i máru tuvur rinci, i rinci ëar tanna.
Nás selmava eressë panyan samanya rumanna.

It is by will alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seeds of java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning.
It is by will alone I set my mind in motion.

I deviated from the popular version floating around the ‘net ’cause I didn’t want to try and transliterate “caffeine.”



  1. #1 by Joshua on April 2, 2011 - 8:52 AM

    There’s no good Quenya word for “bean” so I used “seed”, erdë, instead.

  2. #2 by Chadwick on April 2, 2011 - 9:50 AM

    So what’s the Royal Arch Mason degree consist of and/or how does this differ from what you have been (Which was what, Master Mason? I forget these things.)? Any special perks, like getting to choose the coffee for functions?

    • #3 by Joshua on April 2, 2011 - 6:28 PM

      Blue Lodge Masonry (the core of Freemasonry) confers three degrees:

      Entered Apprentice – Brotherly Love, Relief, Truth, Temperance, Fortitude, Prudence, and Justice
      Fellowcraft – The Seven Liberal Arts and Sciences
      Master Mason – Mortality and Immortality

      The highest degree in Masonry is the Master Mason.

      The York Rite of Freemasonry consists of three organizations which a Master Mason may join if he wishes. The first organization is the Chapter of Royal Arch Masons. The Chapter confers four degrees:

      Mark Master – Honesty and Fairness
      Honorary Past Master
      Most Excellent Master – Reverence to Deity
      Royal Arch Mason – Reverence to Deity

      The settings of the Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Past Master degrees are parts of King Solomon’s Temple. Master Mason is set in a few settings but none of them can be given without violating my obligation.

      Mark Master is set in a quarry, historically after the events of the Master Mason degree. Most Excellent Master is set at the dedication of King Solomon’s Temple. The Royal Arch degree has a few settings but none of them can be revealed without violating my obligation.

      The Chapter degrees are the perfect capstone for the Blue Lodge degrees and I highly recommend them to all Master Masons. However, they are not strictly required to understand the Blue Lodge degrees.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: