Teh Gathering, Mk II

Because three months without seeing Chad in a Top Hat and monocle is two and a half months too long.

Don’t know where, when, and what to do, but damn it, I want to see you people again. Weekends work best for me; I’ll even throw in/down for pizza.

  1. #1 by Christa on March 31, 2011 - 2:10 PM

    Please make this happen.

  2. #2 by Joshua on March 31, 2011 - 4:41 PM

    Yeah totally. I’m in.

    I’m also free this weekend. Any ideas? Friday and Saturday evenings.

    Also, Matt, would Mara happen to have any single friends? I’m still looking…

    Also, the second, I’m definitely up for something like a rafting trip or camping or something fun like that. A weekend trip. Any ideas?

  3. #3 by MHook on March 31, 2011 - 7:43 PM

    I”m fine though i can’t agree to ambiguous weekend, with ambiguous plan without more detail, but I’m up for doing something.
    I don’t do rafting, you pretty much aren’t convincing me to do rafting, kayaking or canoeing, not gonna happen, I’ll deal with a rowboat, a sail boat or a powerboat, i don’t do things that involve me in natural bodies of water. Camping I’ll do. also odds are good I’m not gonna check back in on this, so someone stumble it to me in a bit.

  4. #4 by Matt on March 31, 2011 - 8:13 PM

    Ambiguous plans are ambiguous.

    I was thinking something on a weekend, like, meeting at someones house for a movie/catching up. If we want to plan on getting a campsite or something over the summer, I’d be down with that.

    Want to try for Saturday, April 9th for a movie, with camping plans TBA?

    • #5 by Joshua on March 31, 2011 - 9:15 PM

      Sounds good to me. Okay if I bring a date? If Rachel has off of work, she might want to come, too.

      • #6 by Matt on March 31, 2011 - 11:09 PM

        Sure. Catching as many of you in the same place at the same time is the goal, additional people would just be a bonus.

    • #7 by Phillip on March 31, 2011 - 11:41 PM

      You managed to get the only weekend I have open for the next 3 or 4. I’m quite impressed.

      I hate camping. My uncle was in some position when he was employed by the Boy Scouts so he always had one of those cabins to sleep in, so I was used to those. So, the only time I went there with the intention of camping, I was hoping it’d be in one of those, but no, they put us in a stupid tent.

      I like being able to flush, wash my hands, shower, not get eaten by bugs, not having to worry about rain, having electricity and lights, and if it’s hot, A/C.

    • #8 by Chadwick on April 1, 2011 - 10:11 AM

      I think Christa and I are up for it. Will have her confirm. Do we have a location?

  5. #9 by MHook on April 1, 2011 - 2:56 PM

    so at this point we have April 9th, 1-3 couples and me and Phil… hate to tell you but we are getting progressively closer to the I’m not willing to go point. I really don’t enjoy going out with couples if at all possible, and i don’t mean to be a hang up, but there’s something about being the only single person in a group that makes me not wanna be in the group, and Phil doesn’t seem to wanna go camping.
    before anyone starts a fight, I’m not naming names, this is a summary of my perception of plans.

    • #10 by Joshua on April 1, 2011 - 6:17 PM

      In all likelihood, I’ll be single, too.

      • #11 by Matt on April 3, 2011 - 7:26 PM

        Mara works weekends, so she won’t be coming.

        So, where at? Do we want to shoot for someone’s house, or meet up at Von Trier? Everyone seemed to like it last time we were there.

      • #12 by Joshua on April 4, 2011 - 8:16 AM

        >.< What times are we looking at? I'd be up for Von Trier, Old German Beer Hall, 88 Keys, someone's house, or anything. I only ask because, well, I have a date that night. Aaaanddd, it's sort of important. 😉

        • #13 by Matt on April 4, 2011 - 12:04 PM

          Kudos! What time is the date?

          • #14 by Joshua on April 5, 2011 - 4:34 PM

            Dunno yet.

  6. #15 by Matt on April 4, 2011 - 12:21 PM

    If we want to meet at Von Trier’s they are open at 3pm on Saturdays, and there are several places to eat within a few block radius. A couple of my favorites are Comet Cafe and Zaffiro’s Pizza.

    I’m open to meeting before 3pm for lunch, or meeting up sometime in the evening.

    Discuss!

    • #16 by Matt on April 4, 2011 - 12:38 PM

      Also, carpooling could be an option, so we don’t have to all find parking downtown.

    • #17 by Chadwick on April 4, 2011 - 1:23 PM

      Personally, I’m more inclined toward a food place than a booze place. But that might just be me.

      • #18 by Joshua on April 5, 2011 - 4:35 PM

        Food good!

    • #19 by Phillip on April 5, 2011 - 12:43 AM

      The lunch thing would work out just fine. Drinking MAY be a problem (yay meds!), but food never is.

  7. #20 by Christa on April 4, 2011 - 7:05 PM

    Well, everyone loves pizza, but I’m kind of liking the menu over at Comet Cafe. Compact Turkey Dinner, holy shit! Plus, I hate arguing over pizza toppings. I’m willing to do drinks after too, but who’s surprised about that.

    • #21 by Matt on April 4, 2011 - 10:45 PM

      Comet is ALWAYS busy, so we need to show up 15 min in advance to claim a table, but the food is worth the wait.

    • #22 by Matt on April 5, 2011 - 3:40 PM

      Another option: http://www.theeateryonfarwell.com/
      It’s a block away from Comet, and we should be able to walk in and stake our claim right away.

      Regardless of dining choice, are we trying to shoot for lunch then? 1pm work?

      • #23 by Christa on April 5, 2011 - 4:19 PM

        The eatery sounds good too, and they have a nice beer list.

      • #24 by Joshua on April 5, 2011 - 4:35 PM

        1 PM @ THe Eatery works for me.

      • #25 by Phillip on April 5, 2011 - 10:24 PM

        That should work too.

Leave a Reply

