My latest rant about people

… Am I so thoroughly out of touch with reality?  Well, I am but…

Okay, so I was talking on IRC.  And we were covering dating and such and someone asked me out.  I said, “Well, are you a guy or a girl?”  And the response was “Excuse me?  Why does that matter?”  I said “I don’t date guys.”  The person said, “Well that’s just a bit sexist!  You should love people for who they are, not their gender!”  I was like “…wha?  I’m straight and male, I. don’t. date. guys!”  The other person said, “You seem almost proud of your sexist attitudes.  You really need to work on that before you even think about dating someone.”

Am I THAT out of touch?  I really hope this person was trolling because where I come from, having a sexual orientation is NOT sexist!  I’m not pansexual.  And I’m sorry but it really does matter to me what sort of genitals you have.  If that’s sexist, then sign me up for some old-fashioned bigotry ’cause I ain’t budging on that.

  1. #1 by Andrew D. on February 21, 2011 - 6:22 PM

    It’s likely that the person was offended that you asked their gender and the conversation went downhill from there. Either that or you got seriously trolled. Or perhaps they actually meant it.

    • #2 by Chadwick on February 21, 2011 - 6:25 PM

      Or all of the above, somehow. It is the internet.

  2. #3 by Joshua on February 21, 2011 - 6:35 PM

    To be clear, I shouldn’t feel bad about not being sexually attracted to all people, right? I didn’t think so.

    • #4 by Chadwick on February 21, 2011 - 7:23 PM

      Yeah, no. Feel attracted to whoever you feel like.

      • #5 by Joshua on February 21, 2011 - 7:25 PM

        Hooray!

        • #6 by Phillip on February 23, 2011 - 12:43 AM

          Just make sure you do it in a nonsexist manner.

Leave a Reply

