I remember Quake Team Fortress

The original TF was probably the best game I ever played.  I was reminded of it when my login fortune this morning was:

<Knghtbrd> 2fort5 sucks enough to have its own gravity …

Heh.  When I started playing Quake Team Fortress in 1994, 2fort4 was the default map.  Everyone played on 3dfx Voodoo cards and Glide was the new thing in graphics.  Having transparent water and mirrored surfaces was so damn cool…  When 2fort5 came out there were upgrades to the base structures as well as enhanced gameplay – snipers could call in airstrikes!

I remember pipebomb traps, detpacks, MIRV grenades, nail grenades, and proxy mines.  OH!  And the 20mm autocannon option for the hwguy!  And how the medic’s primary weapon was an axe that healed instead of damaging.  😛

Does anyone still play the original Team Fortress anymore?  If anyone wants a server, I’d be willing to host.  SavageChicken has some spare cycles.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on February 14, 2011 - 9:00 AM

    Team Fortress I never played. My only multiplayer FPS thing was the original Unreal Tournament.

Leave a Reply

