I need a MMO Stat!

So here’s the deal, I’m in a Cultures of Online Gaming class. I’m going to need three online games to play through out the semester. I have no idea what to do because the professor asks that we step out of our comfort box and play something new. I have played a lot of games. List:

World of Warcraft

Star Trek Online

Minecraft

Guild Wars

Second Life (I HATE IT!)

I would like a game that doesn’t suck and doesn’t cost a lot. Text based are okay, but I wouldn’t even know where to start looking.

  1. #1 by fazor3d on February 11, 2011 - 10:56 AM

    ‘Lord of the Rings: Online’ and ‘Dungeons and Dragons: Online’ are both free-to-play, so there wouldn’t be cost involved. Additionally, both have a component of dedicated fan-bases that might make their online communities a little unique compared to game-specific IPs.

    The disadvantage is that they’re both similar to the games in your list.

    Would Facebook games count? I hate them, but they’re certainly socially-active multiplayer “games” with their own cultures.

  2. #2 by Joshua on February 11, 2011 - 7:13 PM

    That sounds like a really fun class. Keep us posted!

  3. #3 by Joshua on February 12, 2011 - 3:06 PM

    I could take you far outside of your comfort zone and into mine: Furcadia – Let your imagination soar!

    Yes. It is a furry MMO. Make no mistake about that. That said, it is really fun.

    • #4 by Chadwick on February 12, 2011 - 4:10 PM

      Well for that, she could also totally go old-school and pull out like FurryMUCK or Furscape or something.

      Or, I suggested, something like Awakened Worlds, a Shadowrun MUD. Not that there’s anything wrong with the classic medieval/fantasy stuff like BatMUD or Aardwolf.

      I just always preferred the Star Wars ones based on the heavily modified SMAUG code. The Hunter’s Network (which I’d link to, but it died a ways back and a WoW guild has set up shop in its corpse) was pretty awesome back in the day, at least until an admin murdered my main character with his admin powers.

      • #5 by Chadwick on February 12, 2011 - 4:12 PM

        Oh, and can I just say that, with a lot of them having been in operation since about 1990, they totally have the best web addresses. Bat.org, Aardwolf.com, Furry.com…

      • #6 by Joshua on February 12, 2011 - 4:35 PM

        FurryMUCK is cool. I only suggested Furcadia because I love visiting Lost Lake. It’s a bittersweet love, though as my reasons for doing so involve Lost Lake being a wonderful creation of someone who, sadly, passed away far too soon.

      • #7 by Joshua on February 12, 2011 - 4:36 PM

        achaea – old-school text MUD that’s player-run by meritocracy. If you love drama and politics, it’s fun.

  4. #8 by Matt on February 14, 2011 - 12:26 PM

    Battlestar Galactica just released a browser based MMO. Kinda fun, free to play, but not as established as others on this list.
    http://battlestar-galactica.bigpoint.com/
    The required plugin, at least for me, works in Firefox but not Chrome.

Leave a Reply

