Assignment

Help me find a font for my Con Badge.

Here’s a Con Badge:

Con Badge Comparisons

Look at the right-hand badge

Here’s the character:

Mike with some color added.

Mike with some color added.

Now find a font that goes well with that character to go on my AnthroCon badge.  Don’t you love how I order people around?  🙂

  1. #1 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 7:19 AM

    There’s one I do like. It’s called Geek A Byte. But if anyone can think of a better one, please let me know.

  2. #2 by Chadwick on February 7, 2011 - 12:51 PM

    It’s a tough assignment. There’s a lot of potentially good fonts—Orange Fizz being the first to come to mind—that present a good combination of character and legibility. But that character part is what makes it hard; it really speaks to your (or Mike’s) character, the font you choose. Is it fun, flirty, playful? Serious, stoic? A real workhorse? Serif-y? I mean, as appropriate as it seems to suggest Joshs Font or SF Ferretopia for this, I’m not sure I could properly capture Mike with a font the way you could.

    But Geek A Byte could definitely work.

    • #3 by Chadwick on February 7, 2011 - 12:52 PM

      Or maybe I’m crazy and reading too much into things.

    • #4 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 1:11 PM

      Orange Fizz is a bit too impact-y and high-strung. Well, ferrets are high-strung.
      Joshs Font – Meh – too rounded. For me personally, yes – ’cause I’m all roundy. But for Mike, no – he’s all skinny and slinky.
      I do like SF Ferretopia. I’ll add that one to the list of possibilities right behind Geek A Byte. I fear that Geek A Byte may be too cartoonish. But then again, the art style that I hope to end up with is very cartoonish so it might work.

      Thanks for the help in this.

    • #5 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 1:13 PM

      As much as I like SF Ferretopia, it’s a bit condensed. That can be fixed but the tall, narrow letters may make it harder to read at a distance. I do really like it, though. I think I’ll move it to the top of my list.

      • #6 by Chadwick on February 7, 2011 - 3:11 PM

        Well, depending how this is to be put to paper, as it were, is it possible to stretch it a bit horizontally before use? Dunno how it would necessarily look in that case, but it might be a thought.

  3. #7 by Chadwick on February 7, 2011 - 12:53 PM

    Also, completely unrelated: There’s currently polka music coming through my wall, and it sounds as though it’s coming from outside my window, but I think it might be the guy next door. I’m almost positive it’s not the contractors working upstairs..

    • #8 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 1:08 PM

      LOL. Well, go dance with whomever is playing.

  4. #9 by Andrew D. on February 7, 2011 - 2:15 PM

    Comic Sans! Always moar Comic Saaaaaaans!

    Seriously, though, throw my vote down for SF Ferretopia.

    • #10 by Chadwick on February 7, 2011 - 3:12 PM

      Comic Sans always implied to me that there should be a Comic Serif.

    • #11 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 4:41 PM

      Noted.

  5. #12 by Andrew on February 7, 2011 - 2:45 PM

    Check out the website – http://www.dafont.com. I use it periodically along with smashingmagazine.com to try and find decent fonts whether I want a more professional looking one or not.

Leave a Reply

