Anthrocon Badge Name

I’m registering for Anthrocon 2011 and I need to know which name should go on my con badge.  Furs usually put the name of their character.  Problem is, mine has three:  An official name which he hates (Carcamaica), the nickname everyone knows him by (Mike), and his screen name (DarthFerret).  Artists usually use the name they draw under.  But I’m not an artist, I’m just a fan.  There’s also the option of using my real name but almost nobody does that.

  1. #1 by Joshua on February 2, 2011 - 4:00 PM

    Whoever answered “Other,” the name didn’t populate. Post it here in a comment, please. Thanks!

  2. #2 by Joshua on February 2, 2011 - 7:08 PM

    Thanks to all who voted. I went with “Carcamaica.” I’m going to Pittsburgh this summer. 🙂 Hotel rates are insane but if someone wants to travel with me and share a room, I’d be open to that. Otherwise I won’t bother to stay overnight. Either way, I plan on taking the train. Tickets are $114 one-way.

    • #3 by Joshua on February 2, 2011 - 7:09 PM

      To clarify, it’s June 23-26. Website.

    • #4 by Chadwick on February 2, 2011 - 7:10 PM

      I love that there’s 2 “Other” votes, with no clarification.

      • #5 by Joshua on February 2, 2011 - 7:13 PM

        I know. Maybe polldaddy’s “other” fill-in-the-blank thing doesn’t work with WordPress? Hard to say. But it’s moot now. Carcamaica it is.

  3. #6 by PeterCat on February 3, 2011 - 10:35 AM

    Consider the purpose of the name on the badge: To identify yourself in person to people who may know you only online. If your friends are looking for someone named “Mike” and you have a badge that says “Carcamaica” they could miss you. There’s no rules, you could put both names on it, maybe all three if they fit.

    You can change your badge name by e-mailing registration-2011 AT anthrocon.org with your your real name, badge name, and badge number.

    • #7 by Joshua on February 3, 2011 - 1:29 PM

      Cool advice. Thanks – this is my first furry con, so I’m not up on all the specs yet.

Leave a Reply

