Graphics work is FUN!

When you have the right subject, that is.  I made this ad parody – it came to me driving to work on Thursday:

got mink?

got mink?

Anyone remember the “got milk?” billboard ads? I made this this morning in The Gimp. I have zero skills in the way of graphics and it partially shows.

The image I used is part of a frame from Hercule Yakko. No matter what I did, I could not find this exact angle anywhere but this scene.  The problem is that in the original scene, her hair was partially behind the scenery (a door) on the right side (her hand is outstretched, leaning on the door).  I had to crop out the door and do something to put her hair back.  While it doesn’t look HORRIBLE, I’m not satisfied.  If someone can give me some Gimp tips to make that bit of her hair just above and to the right of her right shoulder look more natural, I’d be grateful.  (That and I can’t find a DVD that has Hercule Yakko on it so I had to use the YouTube vid with its terrible FLV compression.  I did my best to clean up her colors but her lines are still pleh – if anyone has a higher-resolution version of this frame (she’s just opened the door after Yakko knocked – this is the last frame of the slow pan-up before she repositions herself – I picked this one because she’s cute and tease-y without being over-the-top seductive which is where she goes right after this frame), I’d appreciate it.)

At any rate, that’s my ad parody. I can’t post it on FA ’cause of the copyright double whammy (WB owns Minerva and the Dairy Council owns the “got milk?” campaign.)

,

  1. #1 by Joshua on January 30, 2011 - 2:21 PM

    One major reason I didn’t use a shot from either Meet Minerva or Moon Over Minerva was because I’d have to go through all the trouble of fixing the whited-out (yes – real white out on the cels – a late night censoring job) cleavage. I’ve done that on four separate frames and on one I had to fix the size inconsistency it left her with. Poor mink looked like she’d had a breast enhancement done by a one-eyed surgeon 😛

    If I didn’t have a job, I’d totally fix all ~18,000 frames of Moon Over Minerva. As it is, there are ~20 frames about 1:20 in (when she’s retrieving the key to her diary) that I’d really like to fix. And yes, the job is the only thing stopping me. I really am that obsessed and I really have no life. Plus, if the youtube comments are anything to go by, I’d have thousands of loyal followers worshipping me for giving her her cleavage back. 🙂

  2. #2 by Joshua on January 30, 2011 - 3:32 PM

    Oh, and I figged one thing out from doing all the reading and research for some of my other projects: I like teases. I don’t know why but girls like Minerva are so insanely hot in my view because they’re total teases. I dunno why I find teasing so insanely hot but I do. Especially the eyes.

    Oh and I need you people to be my thesaurus: come up with one or two words to describe Minerva’s eyes in this shot.

  3. #3 by Joshua on January 31, 2011 - 7:03 AM

    And I’m serious: I can (and have) stare at her for hours. She’s absolutely hypnotic. And I need to get out more. ^_^

  4. #4 by Joshua on February 11, 2011 - 8:31 PM

    Oh and this is a rare non-uniboob shot, too. Since Hercule Yakko was her first canon appearance, the censorship shitstorm hadn’t started yet. This is actually a very good reference for her proportions.

  5. #5 by Joshua on February 13, 2011 - 6:20 PM

    Disk space used: ~147MB.
    Number of frames: 741.
    Resolution: 720×400.
    Format: PNG transcoded from XViD MPEG-4
    Value to me: Priceless 🙂

    (Yes – I found a full-res NTSC DVD rip of Hercule Yakko. – now I can get to work remaking this after I finish getting Bukkit set up.)

  6. #11 by Joshua on February 13, 2011 - 6:40 PM

    I really don’t get it. I wish I could explain. I know I’m far from alone: there are so many ‘net guys out there that are just crazy for her. And it’s either “meh” or “OMFG SHE’S THE SEXIEST THING EVER.” There’s no in-between. It’s either total apathy or absolute white-hot burning passion. Even knowing who did the art direction, I still don’t know how he (they) did it – how could they absolutely NAIL (pun intended – Paul Dini admitted as much) such a perfect ideal of absolute animal attractiveness?

  7. #12 by Joshua on February 13, 2011 - 6:41 PM

    I think it’s the tease-aspect. We know we can’t have her (heh and couldn’t even if the laws of physics didn’t stand in our way) and that makes us want her all the more.

Leave a Reply

