I can has birthdays?

I’ve decided my birthday’s going to be at Old German Beer Hall on a Friday at 6:00 PM.  Now we just need to decide which Friday.  The actual birthday is on Jan. 31.

  1. #1 by Christa on January 22, 2011 - 4:18 PM

    Date?

    • #2 by Joshua on January 22, 2011 - 5:53 PM

      Well, if you’re offering, sure. I think Chad’d be pissed, tho.

  2. #3 by Joshua on January 22, 2011 - 5:54 PM

    It’s Jan. 31, to answer the question that was asked.

  3. #4 by Joshua on January 25, 2011 - 8:44 AM

    I think I’ve decided on going to the Old German Beer Hall on 3rd St. Now we just need to decide when.

  4. #5 by Christa on January 26, 2011 - 4:21 PM

    This Friday’s bad for me. But after that I have less to do.

    • #6 by Joshua on January 26, 2011 - 4:24 PM

      Okay – so want to go for Feb. 4?

      • #7 by Christa on January 27, 2011 - 4:31 PM

        if it’s good for everyone else, don’t forget Bjorn. He doesn’t check here

        • #8 by Joshua on January 27, 2011 - 4:33 PM

          I stumbled it at him and Kriz and Mackenzie.

      • #9 by Andrew D. on January 27, 2011 - 4:45 PM

        I can’t be there at 6, but I can attempt to make it a little later. I may even be able to bring a Matthew with me.

        • #10 by Joshua on January 27, 2011 - 5:07 PM

          Hooray! Bring single girls, too, please. There seems to be a shortage of them in this general area. ^_^

        • #11 by Christa on January 27, 2011 - 5:16 PM

          Good! you need to get your Christmas gift, which I’m starting to think you don’t want.

          • #12 by Joshua on January 27, 2011 - 5:18 PM

            LOL – I didn’t even know I had one coming!

          • #13 by Christa on January 27, 2011 - 6:15 PM

            Sorry, I meant Andrew.

      • #14 by Chadwick on January 27, 2011 - 5:45 PM

        Well, normally I hate going places. But I guess for you, I can make an exception. 😛

        • #15 by Joshua on January 27, 2011 - 6:28 PM

          I’ve noticed 😛

  5. #16 by Phillip on January 27, 2011 - 11:50 PM

    That may work for me. There’s a slight possibility that I’m heading upnorth for the weekend; if I’m not, I should be there.

  6. #17 by Matt on January 28, 2011 - 9:50 AM

    If I remember, I’ll have stuff for people.

  7. #18 by Joshua on January 28, 2011 - 5:11 PM

    I’ve been getting a lot of feedback that this location, time, and date aren’t working for people. Where / when would we rather have it? I’m open to suggestion. At this point, I have nobody confirmed to be coming.

    • #19 by Chadwick on January 28, 2011 - 5:17 PM

      Well, wherever it is, just let me know and I’ll show up.

      • #20 by Joshua on January 28, 2011 - 6:11 PM

        lol k

  8. #21 by Joshua on January 31, 2011 - 6:10 AM

    I’m going to declare that this is happening. I haven’t heard any better suggestions. Friday, February 4 @ 6:00 PM At Old German Beer Hall.

  9. #22 by Joshua on February 4, 2011 - 5:35 AM

    don’t forgets this tonight!

    • #23 by Andrew on February 4, 2011 - 10:24 AM

      Happy Birthday Josh!

      • #24 by Joshua on February 4, 2011 - 12:27 PM

        Thanks ^_^

  10. #25 by Joshua on February 4, 2011 - 1:00 PM

    I feel guilty about having this party. Not only can nobody seem to make it, but I feel like I’m forcing you guys to leave your houses when you don’t really want to. I asked for suggestions for alternate times and locations and one person got pissed and yelled at me for changing my mind and nobody else suggested anything.

    If you really don’t want to attend, then please just tell me. I can still cancel it.

    • #26 by Andrew D. on February 4, 2011 - 8:40 PM

      Well by the time I got home and discovered that the party had moved to 6 PM, it was 7:30. No way I could get there until 8-ish, and I had no way of contacting you to see if you would still be there.

      I have beer for you. We should hang out some upcoming weekend. 🙂

      • #27 by Joshua on February 5, 2011 - 8:10 AM

        Err – it hadn’t MOVED to 6. But yeah I understand. And we were packing it in by 8:30. We missed you and yeah that weekend beer thing sounds awesome!

        • #28 by Andrew D. on February 6, 2011 - 3:04 PM

          Well, somehow I saw 8 pm, so maybe was me. Apologies.

  11. #29 by Joshua on February 5, 2011 - 8:12 AM

    I want to thank everyone who attended the party last night. I had a terrific time and I hope everyone else did too.

    • #30 by Chadwick on February 5, 2011 - 9:20 AM

      It was a lot of fun. Old German Beer halls are definitely unique as far as bars go.

      • #31 by Joshua on February 5, 2011 - 9:54 AM

        Yeah – that was a typical Friday night. And EVERY night is like that in actual German pubs. 🙂

      • #32 by Joshua on February 5, 2011 - 10:05 AM

        Drunk married women are fun. Especially when their husbands are being poopheads. 🙂

  12. #33 by Joshua on February 5, 2011 - 9:56 AM

    I got the best birthday present ever:

    so the getting together to watch the game is not working out. I think you should take me out some other time. 🙂

    I love how she saw through my charade of watching the super bowl. Somehow she figured out that I like her just from some facebook messages. And that’s awesome. 🙂

    • #34 by Chadwick on February 6, 2011 - 7:57 AM

      Whoo!

    • #35 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 8:46 AM

      And for the first time in 8 years I get to attend a Sweethearts dance. 🙂

      • #36 by Chadwick on February 7, 2011 - 12:34 PM

        I know I could google it, but whowhat?

        • #37 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 12:42 PM

          Lake Lodge is having a Sweethearts dance on Feb. 17 at St. Francis Brewpub. And the lady I’ve been courting agreed to be my date. 🙂

          I’d link the events page from the Lodge website but the site is down ’cause I forgot that mysqld isn’t in /etc/rc3.d on SavageChicken. 😛

    • #38 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 5:52 PM

      On a related and rather urgent tip can anyone recommend a professional interior cleaning place for my car? There’s suddenly someone else who will be seeing the interior of my car. Which is not something I usually think about. I’m rambling aren’t I? Heh. I got so excited when I got the Facebook message. And there goes my worrying, worrying about how I need to get the passenger door hinge relubed so it doesn’t squeak when I open or close it for her. And how I need to get a dress code (formal vs. semi-formal) from my Master. I should know this being Senior Warden but until Sunday I wanted no part of it because it made me so bitter to think about.

      Wow I’m on my second paragraph here, huh? Really I think I’m afraid to stop typing because then I’ll go back to my usual nervousness. And I haven’t been this scatterbrained in a long time. Heh. I’ma go on #xkcd-love and ramble at them for a while. I was going to work on the new server but I’m not in much condition to do so at the moment. 🙂

      • #39 by Chadwick on February 7, 2011 - 8:58 PM

        I’d have to defer to Phil or something. I’ve only ever just kinda vacuumed out my car.

        • #40 by Phillip on February 7, 2011 - 11:06 PM

          Amazingly, I’ve only cleaned my car 2 times. The first one was when milk was spilt on the floor. The 2nd was before a date and I had hand prints all over the back window. Let me tell you, you have to be a damned contortionist to get your hand there to clean those windows…..now that has me wondering how she exactly got the prints there.

      • #41 by Phillip on February 7, 2011 - 11:02 PM

        How clean are you talking? There are places that will just do a quick vacuum, wipe down and interior window cleaning. But, then, there are also places that will go quite a bit deeper.

        The only one I’ve personally used has been Auto Spa, and they’re fine if you’re just wanting something tidied up really quickly. However, I have heard good things about Octopus Car Wash for more in depth cleaning.

  13. #42 by Phillip on February 6, 2011 - 9:42 PM

    Sorry I wasn’t there. I started out the day with wanting to get all my errands done, and by the time I was actually finished it was about 7:45. Given that it’s about a 20 minute drive or so..I really wouldn’t have been there too long.

  14. #43 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 5:17 PM

    Bjorn happened to mention that cole slaw doesn’t taste very good coming back up. I have to say that’s an advantage that German food has in general. I found out that sauerkraut, red cabbage, and German potato salad taste exactly the same both ways. Likewise beer. The beer is even still foamy sometimes.

    Actually, I’ve only ever gotten sick twice after drinking and both times are when I drank WAY too much. They also both happened to be from a night at the Old German Beer Hall. But since I limited my consumption for my birthday party, the worst I had was a bit of the spins and those went away quickly.

    (I still took dimenhydrinate before bed. I also have some Tigan left over from a bout with intestinal virus that I keep on hand. That stuff works miracles – I was laying on the floor of the doctor’s office after a few dry heaves into the sink and the doc walks in, laughs, and comes back with a needle full of Tigan. One shot in the arm and 15 seconds, the nausea is gone and I’m actually hungry. The pill form works just as well but takes around 20 minutes to be digested.)

    • #44 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 5:19 PM

      Oh, the beer also really cuts the smell. Most folks don’t like the smell of butyric acid (we’re actually hardwired to become nauseous when we smell it) and the beer is very good at neutralizing it.

      • #45 by Chadwick on February 7, 2011 - 5:45 PM

        That’s actually an interesting tip.

        • #46 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 5:47 PM

          I happened to get on this topic because my mom watches lots of medical shows.

      • #47 by Joshua on February 7, 2011 - 5:56 PM

        Once again I am a genetic freak. Butyric acid doesn’t bother me. In fact, I tend to gravitate toward cheeses that naturally contain a lot of it like Parmesan, pecorino, romano, etc. But the rest of my group-forraging response works all too well. I know that if I see lots of folks with bags and buckets in a doctor’s office waiting room, I need to ask for a private room right away because even if I feel fine going in, I’ll eventually start vomiting just because other people around me are. Which, back when we were hunter-gatherers, was a very good thing. Nowadays, it’s just very annoying.

Leave a Reply

