The Quest for Girlyness: Part 2

I still don’t know how to use the diffuser. I’m sure I could find some guide with a simple Google search, but the thought of that thing brings back memories of the head ache it game me. I talked about this with Chad, and was not nearly as amazed as you may think, when he he started explaining what he understood to be the proper diffuser technique (complete with pantomiming). I posed a question, he was compelled to find the answer. It’s how the universe works.

But on to the next adventure: The Day Spa!

My mom finally took a vacation that lined up with mine. To celebrate, we made an appointment to get massages. Sounds like a great idea, right? Surprisingly, it was. It’s not like I thought the actual massage would be bad, I just assumed, since mom and I would be in close quarters, that something would go wrong. Maybed we’d break down and yell at each other, in public, wearing puffy white robes. I don’t know. Anything’s possible when you put us in the same room together.

So, that morning, we arrived at Enve Spa in Waterford. That’s right, there is actually more to Waterford than Pick N Save and the post office. There’s a McDonald’s, at least 3 consignment shops, a used bookstore, a Thai/Italian restaurant, a place that sells Stone Creek Coffee, and a day spa. Enve is located in a white two story that my mom said used to be a bank, but I remember it as a flooring place. I did not press the issue. They also offer full salon services and the website says they now offer Brazilian Blowouts (IDK, look it up). The people seem great, even if the woman behind the counter looked a little stark in a black suit with bleached hair.

We filled out some basic, “I shouldn’t have a heart attack or break out in hives if you touch me”, as well as “my neck and shoulders are really stiff and I have anxiety”, paperwork before the happiest looking masseuse came to collect us. My mom and I changed into the aforementioned white robes, and while I let her take the fluffy socks, I got stuck with two right footed terry cloth flip flops. Mom went first while I spent an hour in the relaxation room. There was generic, peaceful, ocean music, a hot semi circle tea pillow for my neck and shoulders, and my Kindle loaded with Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom.

It was a pretty nice hour alone, but after the first 20 minutes my back hurt from sitting in the (I think wire) chair. By the time mom walked in, I was ready to go home. Fifteen minutes later, I was picking three chakra cards and laying on a surprisingly comfortable table. The cards game me three scents to choose from. I ended up with Chakra 1, grounded. She read me a card about what it means, but I had little interest.

The actual massage is hard to put into words. She started with a hot towel for my face, worked on my scalp, slowly down my neck and shoulders, then the left arm. She continued down the left side, then back up the right before I rolled over and she worked magic on my back. The amazing levels of muscle relaxation didn’t least as long as I had hoped. By the time I was in the car, my back was stiff again. I thought this was a wonderfully girly thing to do, until I heard about Other Andrew talking about his monthly facial and massage. Clearly, more work is needed on my part.

I still don’t know how to use the diffuser. I’m sure I could find some guide with a simple Google search, but the thought of that thing brings back memories of the head ache it game me. I talked about this with Chad, and was not nearly as amazed as you may think, when he he started explaining what he understood to be the proper diffuser technique (complete with pantomiming). I posed a question, he was compelled to find the answer. It’s how the universe works.

 

But on to the next adventure: The Day Spa!

 

My mom finally took a vacation that lined up with mine. To celebrate, we made an appointment to get massages. Sounds like a great idea, right? Surprisingly, it was. It’s not like I thought the actual massage would be bad, I just assumed, since mom and I would be in close quarters, that something would go wrong. Maybed we’d break down and yell at each other, in public, wearing puffy white robes. I don’t know. Anything’s possible when you put us in the same room together.

 

So, that morning, we arrived at Enve Spa in Waterford. That’s right, there is actually more to Waterford than Pick N Save and the post office. There’s a McDonald’s, at least 3 consignment shops, a used bookstore, a Thai/Italian restaurant, a place that sells Stone Creek Coffee, and a day spa. Enve is located in a white two story that my mom said used to be a bank, but I remember it as a flooring place. I did not press the issue. They also offer full salon services and the website says they now offer Brazilian Blowouts (IDK, look it up). The people seem great, even if the woman behind the counter looked a little stark in a black suit with bleached hair.

 

We filled out some basic, “I shouldn’t have a heart attack or break out in hives if you touch me”, as well as “my neck and shoulders are really stiff and I have anxiety”, paperwork before the happiest looking misuse came to collect us. My mom and I changed into the aforementioned white robes, and while I let her take the fluffy socks, I got stuck with two right footed terry cloth flip flops. Mom went first while I spent an hour in the relaxation room. There was generic, peaceful, ocean music, a hot semi circle tea pillow for my neck and shoulders, and my Kindle loaded with Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom.

 

It was a pretty nice hour alone, but after the first 20 minutes my back hurt from sitting in the (I think wire) chair. By the time mom walked in, I was ready to go home. Fifteen minutes later, I was picking three chakra cards and laying on a surprisingly comfortable table. The cards game me three scents to choose from. I ended up with Chakra 1, grounded. She read me a card about what it means, but I had little interest.

 

The actual massage is hard to put into words. She started with a hot towel for my face, worked on my scalp, slowly down my neck and shoulders, then the left arm. She continued down the left side, then back up the right before I rolled over and she worked magic on my back. The amazing levels of muscle relaxation didn’t least as long as I had hoped. By the time I was in the car, my back was stiff again. I thought this was a wonderfully girly thing to do, until I heard about Other Andrew talking about his monthly facial and massage. Clearly, more work is needed on my part.

I still don’t know how to use the diffuser. I’m sure I could find some guide with a simple Google search, but the thought of that thing brings back memories of the head ache it game me. I talked about this with Chad, and was not nearly as amazed as you may think, when he he started explaining what he understood to be the proper diffuser technique (complete with pantomiming). I posed a question, he was compelled to find the answer. It’s how the universe works.

 

But on to the next adventure: The Day Spa!

 

My mom finally took a vacation that lined up with mine. To celebrate, we made an appointment to get massages. Sounds like a great idea, right? Surprisingly, it was. It’s not like I thought the actual massage would be bad, I just assumed, since mom and I would be in close quarters, that something would go wrong. Maybed we’d break down and yell at each other, in public, wearing puffy white robes. I don’t know. Anything’s possible when you put us in the same room together.

 

So, that morning, we arrived at Enve Spa in Waterford. That’s right, there is actually more to Waterford than Pick N Save and the post office. There’s a McDonald’s, at least 3 consignment shops, a used bookstore, a Thai/Italian restaurant, a place that sells Stone Creek Coffee, and a day spa. Enve is located in a white two story that my mom said used to be a bank, but I remember it as a flooring place. I did not press the issue. They also offer full salon services and the website says they now offer Brazilian Blowouts (IDK, look it up). The people seem great, even if the woman behind the counter looked a little stark in a black suit with bleached hair.

 

We filled out some basic, “I shouldn’t have a heart attack or break out in hives if you touch me”, as well as “my neck and shoulders are really stiff and I have anxiety”, paperwork before the happiest looking misuse came to collect us. My mom and I changed into the aforementioned white robes, and while I let her take the fluffy socks, I got stuck with two right footed terry cloth flip flops. Mom went first while I spent an hour in the relaxation room. There was generic, peaceful, ocean music, a hot semi circle tea pillow for my neck and shoulders, and my Kindle loaded with Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom.

 

It was a pretty nice hour alone, but after the first 20 minutes my back hurt from sitting in the (I think wire) chair. By the time mom walked in, I was ready to go home. Fifteen minutes later, I was picking three chakra cards and laying on a surprisingly comfortable table. The cards game me three scents to choose from. I ended up with Chakra 1, grounded. She read me a card about what it means, but I had little interest.

 

The actual massage is hard to put into words. She started with a hot towel for my face, worked on my scalp, slowly down my neck and shoulders, then the left arm. She continued down the left side, then back up the right before I rolled over and she worked magic on my back. The amazing levels of muscle relaxation didn’t least as long as I had hoped. By the time I was in the car, my back was stiff again. I thought this was a wonderfully girly thing to do, until I heard about Other Andrew talking about his monthly facial and massage. Clearly, more work is needed on my part.

I still don’t know how to use the diffuser. I’m sure I could find some guide with a simple Google search, but the thought of that thing brings back memories of the head ache it game me. I talked about this with Chad, and was not nearly as amazed as you may think, when he he started explaining what he understood to be the proper diffuser technique (complete with pantomiming). I posed a question, he was compelled to find the answer. It’s how the universe works.

But on to the next adventure: The Day Spa!

My mom finally took a vacation that lined up with mine. To celebrate, we made an appointment to get massages. Sounds like a great idea, right? Surprisingly, it was. It’s not like I thought the actual massage would be bad, I just assumed, since mom and I would be in close quarters, that something would go wrong. Maybed we’d break down and yell at each other, in public, wearing puffy white robes. I don’t know. Anything’s possible when you put us in the same room together.

So, that morning, we arrived at Enve Spa in Waterford. That’s right, there is actually more to Waterford than Pick N Save and the post office. There’s a McDonald’s, at least 3 consignment shops, a used bookstore, a Thai/Italian restaurant, a place that sells Stone Creek Coffee, and a day spa. Enve is located in a white two story that my mom said used to be a bank, but I remember it as a flooring place. I did not press the issue. They also offer full salon services and the website says they now offer Brazilian Blowouts (IDK, look it up). The people seem great, even if the woman behind the counter looked a little stark in a black suit with bleached hair.

We filled out some basic, “I shouldn’t have a heart attack or break out in hives if you touch me”, as well as “my neck and shoulders are really stiff and I have anxiety”, paperwork before the happiest looking misuse came to collect us. My mom and I changed into the aforementioned white robes, and while I let her take the fluffy socks, I got stuck with two right footed terry cloth flip flops. Mom went first while I spent an hour in the relaxation room. There was generic, peaceful, ocean music, a hot semi circle tea pillow for my neck and shoulders, and my Kindle loaded with Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom.

It was a pretty nice hour alone, but after the first 20 minutes my back hurt from sitting in the (I think wire) chair. By the time mom walked in, I was ready to go home. Fifteen minutes later, I was picking three chakra cards and laying on a surprisingly comfortable table. The cards game me three scents to choose from. I ended up with Chakra 1, grounded. She read me a card about what it means, but I had little interest.

The actual massage is hard to put into words. She started with a hot towel for my face, worked on my scalp, slowly down my neck and shoulders, then the left arm. She continued down the left side, then back up the right before I rolled over and she worked magic on my back. The amazing levels of muscle relaxation didn’t least as long as I had hoped. By the time I was in the car, my back was stiff again. I thought this was a wonderfully girly thing to do, until I heard about Other Andrew talking about his monthly facial and massage. Clearly, more work is needed on my part.

  1. #1 by Joshua on January 25, 2011 - 7:56 AM

    I think it was a wonderfully girly thing to do. Just because other Andrew is *sensitive* doesn’t mean you have to try and out-girl him.

  2. #2 by Benjamin on January 25, 2011 - 5:06 PM

    I’m trying to discern whether or not you deliberately misspelled masseuse as “misuse”…

    • #3 by Christa on January 25, 2011 - 6:17 PM

      I’m so bad at spelling, the spell checker quit.

  3. #4 by Andrew on January 25, 2011 - 5:45 PM

    Yeah, no point in trying to argue with ppl here. I like to get a massage regularly basically to relax/de-stress…. Plus a nice massage from a cute girl I am friends with, to help work out the knots and kinks in my back, neck, and arms is always a good thing.,. Mina does a great job where I go, and we have a blast catching up on each other’s life. I can’t wait to see her pictures from her 1 month trip to Europe she is leaving for this weekend. I personally wouldn’t put a massage or any spa things under the “girly” category as all statistics out there show that spa treatments are definitely not solely for one gender…

    • #5 by Christa on January 25, 2011 - 6:15 PM

      I didn’t mean to put you on the spot.

      • #6 by Andrew on January 25, 2011 - 6:31 PM

        not a problem, figured I would toss in my “2 bits” worth for those who read it. But honestly, I don’t see going to the spa as a girly thing at all. There are definitely somethings that would fit the bill… One of my favorite things some girls I am friends with do on their “girls night” is actually a mini-lan party where they play games like Neverwinter Nights 2, Call of Duty, and other games on PC, Xbox, or PS3. it doesn’t mean they are not girly or “girly-girls”, they just share/have a healthy variety of hobbies and interests.

        • #7 by Joshua on January 25, 2011 - 7:45 PM

          Uhh… Not to seem creepy here (too late, I know) but where are these awesome girls who play Call of Duty and NWN2?

          • #8 by Andrew on January 26, 2011 - 7:47 PM

            Well 3 girls that i have been friends with for the past 13 years or so would be the first ones to come to mind. Sara, Beth, and Lisa are avid gamers and took part in D&D back in our teenage years and used to join me on my old Neverwinter Nights server I had back in college. I play periodically with them on Xbox Live too. Sad part is the 3 of them all live currently out in California…

          • #9 by Joshua on January 26, 2011 - 9:03 PM

            I’ve heard that California is where I should go to find geeky girls.

Leave a Reply

