Conflict of Interests

Kay.  I like having fun and meeting people but here are some problems:

I’ve had lots of folks tell me that a True Christian ™ will always end up alone and without any friends since friends only serve to corrupt and lead astray.  Likewise, they’ve told me that a True Christian shouldn’t enjoy dating – it should be to check for compatibility for marriage and that you shouldn’t date a woman you aren’t prepared to marry.  Likewise, leisure time should be spent in prayer or in service to the community.  Laughter and frivolity are frowned upon because those who laugh now will cry at the coming of the Kingdom and those who cry now will laugh.

I find it difficult to believe that following Christ means I have to be miserable as fuck my entire life and act like a complete jackass to everyone I meet.  I find it hard to accept that I shouldn’t enjoy my life.

  1. #1 by Phillip on January 23, 2011 - 10:36 PM

    What is a “True Christian”? If you talk to 3 different people you’ll get 3 different answers about what belonging to a specific religion/denomination entail.

    I’ve had arguments with people who happened to be, I don’t remember what sect, but they were arguing that Christianity was all about Jesus and Jesus alone. To get into heaven was an arduous task not for the faint of heart. Growing up Roman Catholic taught the opposite; God/Jesus/Holy Spirit were all part of one and separate from each other. That the purpose of a funeral was to help “push” someone into heaven, the purpose of the Last Rites were to, more or less, assure someone’s admittance into heaven. After all, all you’d need is absolution, which is one of the elements of the Last Rites.

    In those arguments I was told that I was wrong and that they’d get their (lay) minister to tell me such too. I didn’t really place too much credence in their claims primarily because who I heard my stuff from went through a seminary for their education, and some of these guys had PhDs in theology.

    In short, I wouldn’t really worry about it.

    Just as another view, one of my friends was of the mindset that all dates had to be chaperoned, there was to be no imbibing alcohol/cigarettes/etc. and no hand holding. That worked out fine for him too. For other people, I’m sure that they’d absolutely hate that.

    • #2 by Joshua on January 24, 2011 - 5:51 AM

      Yeah – my faith isn’t in question – my following of arbitrary rules is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

