Why I have only two recent works of fiction

I mentioned to Chad and Christa that I had two works of written fiction hosted at a website.  I’m not gonna link you because, frankly, nobody but me and one other person here would have any interest in reading them and I’m not particularly proud of having written them.

Back in the day, I was actually a decent children’s fantasy author.  Likewise, I did a bit of hard sci-fi in high school that wasn’t terrible.  But recently I got the itch to write again.  This time I wrote from personal experience.  And that’s why I can’t write anymore.  Most of the best examples of this category of fiction are written by women.  There are legitimate reasons for this.  But, at least for me, at this point in time, I have no more to write without that interactive experience of a shared story.  Perhaps I’ll write more of it someday.  Perhaps not.  Either way,

QUIT ASKING ME TO LINK IT!  Like I said, I’m not proud of it.  I’ve been told it’s decent but shows my inexperience with the subject matter.  Granted some find it refreshing that someone is able to write honestly from a naïve perspective, but again, no.  No linky.  Sorry, peoples.  (Trust me, you wouldn’t want to read it anyway.)

,

  1. #1 by Joshua on January 22, 2011 - 6:09 PM

    OH! And the accident I caused only cost me $720 in damages to the other car. Which is better than the few thousand I was anticipating.

  2. #2 by HaleyWhitehall on January 22, 2011 - 6:14 PM

    Keep writing and you will improve in this category. I don’t think it is right that most personal experience fiction is written by women. I would like to know a man’s perspective on life. Either that, or you can return to writing fantasy and sci-fi. Just write what your heart tells you to. I found that works for me.

    • #3 by Joshua on January 23, 2011 - 6:49 AM

      Well thank you for the encouragement. I may continue someday. Your post on discipline made me think about things in a different perspective. On my list of things to do to improve myself in this area is to read some narrative style guides for the genre I’m targeting.

      Also: Cute avatar. ^_^

  3. #4 by Joshua on January 22, 2011 - 6:18 PM

    Another reason is that I saw what I though was an awesome ~400 combined hits on the two (with the first getting the Lion’s share – furry pun intended). But when I saw the kind of hits that other writers were getting in a similar timeframe (~1000), I was a bit disappointed. True – they are established writers with an existing fanbase. But not one person has commented on either of my two submissions.

    Likewise, I took the time to read some of the writing guides at the site where the stories are posted. Wow. Insanely better than mine. So yeah. It looks like I won’t be breaking into this particular genre any time soon.

  4. #5 by Andrew D. on January 22, 2011 - 10:21 PM

    There’s a reason most of my fiction never leaves my folder. I completely understand.

  5. #6 by Joshua on January 27, 2011 - 9:52 PM

    I has a fiction in mine head. I will write it down tomorrow evening. It is a standalone story that’s the first chapter of a larger sequential story. I have chapter two framed out also.

Leave a Reply

