Going to be that kind of day

This is the e-mail I just sent my boss:

I’d been leaving the brands with no sponsor IDs with blank sponsors.  But somehow I managed to get the brand’s zip code in the sponsor ID by mistake.  The br_id is 7058.  I’m just going to update the sponsor ID manually in UAT and fix the script.  It’s too early and I haven’t had any coffee yet so I just stuck any 5-digit number I could find in there.

Imagine, if you will, that the sponsor is the CPU and the brand is the motherboard.  You can see how putting the wrong CPU in the motherboard would cause MANY more problems than leaving the socket empty would.  Brands that lack sponsors just don’t work.  Brands that have zip codes as sponsor IDs might end up pointing at random banks or credit unions.  This would cause no end of headache for the QA team that would end up debugging the thing down the road when folks start getting weird and unpredictable behaviors when they try to enroll in online bill payment.

And yes.  You should be very afraid.  They have people like me writing your online banking and bill payment systems.  🙂

,

  1. #1 by Joshua on January 20, 2011 - 7:38 AM

    And my keywords generator e-mail address works great, by the way. That was a good idea I had.

  2. #2 by Joshua on January 20, 2011 - 7:46 AM

    On another interesting note, I had a dream that Sacha Baron Cohen was teaching sociology at MATC. I’m not at all sure where any of that came from.

  3. #3 by Chadwick on January 20, 2011 - 8:14 AM

    You should be very afraid. They have people like me writing your online banking and bill payment systems.

    Honestly, the fact that you had a defined system for how to do it wrong makes it better than I generally assume I’m getting. I’ll take “wrong in a consistent fashion” over “wrong without reasoning” every time.

    • #4 by Joshua on January 20, 2011 - 8:16 AM

      I like that when we are wrong, we’re wrong in the safest possible way.

  4. #5 by Chadwick on January 20, 2011 - 8:15 AM

    Also, good morning. I just got my coffee too.

    • #6 by Joshua on January 20, 2011 - 8:17 AM

      🙂 I had a second cup. One of the PMs is being a real knob this morning. He’s acting like he’s never heard of the software development lifecycle and asking why we can’t just make changes to live production applications in real-time.

  5. #7 by Andrew on January 20, 2011 - 11:11 AM

    Josh, it sounds to me like you work at a company that has just as many frustrating people and problems and idiots as I do….

Leave a Reply

