Blog Theme

So the blog has basically looked the same since it launched back in…well, a long time ago.  The theme is something I’ve wanted to change from time to time, but I could never find anything I liked as much as the one we’ve been using.  But I think it’s finally time for a change.

The other day, Josh asked about getting a different theme that would let his code post correctly, and he reiterated a request that I’ve gotten before (primarily from Dorney, but also from others); namely, for a variable-width theme, rather than the restricted fixed-width.  Unfortunately, every time I’ve browsed teh available WordPress themes, the non-fixed-width ones were uniformly bland, and would always eat any comments nested more than 2 replies deep.  Needless to say, that was unacceptable.

This time, though, browsing the newest of teh variable-width themes, I found two that were promising, and one in particular that promised to be “great for a variety of uses including technical blogs, long-form writing, posting code samples, and displaying large images.”  (emphasis mine)

Long story short, I’m going to be futzing around with the theme.  Hopefully, everything will work smoothly, and we’ll have a new, streamlined look soon.  But for when it doesn’t (because nothing ever goes smoothly), I’m leaving this thread up for your comments and complaints about the change.

  1. #1 by Phillip on January 19, 2011 - 12:53 AM

    I can’t say that I’m really a fan of this theme. I don’t know why, but it just seems..off. Maybe the right column is a little too wide, or maybe it’s the white on white with it. Actually, I think it is the colors.

  2. #2 by Joshua on January 19, 2011 - 5:04 AM

    See and I like it.

    • #3 by Andrew D. on January 19, 2011 - 10:25 AM

      I also approve.

      • #4 by Chadwick on January 19, 2011 - 11:00 AM

        I think you two approve ’cause the theme is tagged “Corporate.”

        • #5 by Joshua on January 19, 2011 - 4:39 PM

          😛

    • #6 by Christa on January 19, 2011 - 7:24 PM

      I told chad I hated the colors right away. It looks too sterile and boring. It also feels so vast and empty. In a way I think it makes the whole place look cheap. I know we’re not a huge and popular blog, but this feels really cookie cutter.

      • #7 by Joshua on January 20, 2011 - 9:23 AM

        I agree the old one was cozier but it was much harder to use than this one. It’d be great if they made a variable-width version of the other theme.

        • #8 by Chadwick on January 20, 2011 - 10:03 AM

          I think technically with the custom CSS, it could be doable.

  3. #9 by Chadwick on January 19, 2011 - 9:25 AM

    It’s interesting…I agree that the pure white is a bit too much (I’d like a touch of color), but there’s a lot of this that I do like. The shape of the buttons, the way comments are displayed, the ability to go from this post to the next (or previous) one via links at the top that sort of thing. But I do think a dash of differentiating color—say, tinting the sidebar—would do wonders.

    • #10 by Chadwick on January 19, 2011 - 9:26 AM

      Oh, and I like that the post author’s comments get differentiated with the dark bar and shaded background.

      • #11 by Joshua on January 19, 2011 - 4:39 PM

        I like that as well. And the textured comment boxes. Though the Firefox default fonts on my Linux and Solaris boxen put the field labels in the middle of the fields 😛 But that’s not that big of an issue.

  4. #12 by Matt on January 25, 2011 - 2:27 PM

    I like the color scheme at the top (banner?) But too much white on white makes me want to move to the suburbs and buy a lawn mower.

    Is there no want to edit the theme’s colors, or does WP not allow you to make changes?

Leave a Reply

