Anthro-ferrets 101

This is a ferret:

Domestic ferret

Domestic ferret

This is an anthro-ferret:

Biggs san

Biggs san

Note the differences.

I really can’t answer the question of why I chose a ferret for a fursona.  I’ve never really been a fan of their real-life versions.  To me, they’re evil little bitey weasels.  But having read a boatload of furry comics, I guess I came to see a lot of what I wanted to see in myself, in these characters.  Except Biggs san – he’s really kind of a jerk.

I’m posting this because I went to Sean’s studio last night to sign off on the second sketch of Mike, my ferret character.  As it turns out, I didn’t sign off.  We determined that Sean was 90% there but a few things needed to be tweaked for me to actually approve it.  But it did get me to thinking:  I know what the character is like but what would he do in the routine RP hypotheticals?

I started thinking on that and answering some questions and I determined that there is a lot that lines up between him and other anthro-ferrets and some stuff that does not.  Things that line up:

  1. Vanity
    But semi-subverted with Mike since he knows he’ll never be satisfied with his appearance and therefore doesn’t even bother.
  2. Cunning
    Ferrets are quick-witted and scheming.  Mike fits that well when he wants to.
  3. Agility
    Ferrets are among the most agile of all anthro animal types and Mike is no exception.
  4. Snarkiness
    Mike can be snarky and sarcastic at times and he can also be very well-spoken.  He straddles both worlds.

Things that don’t line up:

  1. Greed
    Ferrets tend to hoard things.  Mike hoards electronics but not for their value.  He actually enjoys them.
  2. Desire to subvert
    A major hallmark of an anthro-ferret that Mike is missing in a big way is a desire to subvert authority and get his own way.  He stoicly and quietly opposes authority in his own mind rather than plotting its downfall.  Which leads me to me my next collision:
  3. Ego
    Mike has a big ego when it comes to knowing things.  Most other anthro-ferrets have big egos all around and will adamantly refuse to admit they’re not the best at something and this is a major berzerk button for an anthro-ferret.  But not with Mike.
  4. Temper
    Ferrets are very hot-tempered and will snap on someone with little provocation.  Ferret fights are often short and violent.  Mike will fight if pushed but strongly prefers to walk away from confrontation.  This is a major deviation from “normal” ferret behavior and tends to explain why he doesn’t have many ferret friends.

Reading more about ferret characters on forums helped me to understand their motivations.  I was very confused and slightly offended when Amber reversed her earlier stance about Wildy’s attitude toward dating and decided that she was destined for an arranged marriage.  After all, Wildy is fiercely independent.  It seemed very out of character for her to submit to having an arranged marriage forced down her throat.  Then I actually reread the comics and the forums and determined that (a) her dad probably has a LOT of political power locally and she’s likely very loyal to her father, even choosing his peace of mind over her own happiness, and (b) ferrets have the same problem as Vulcans:  they face a mate-or-die decision upon reaching sexual maturity.  So even without her dad in the mix, Wildy really doesn’t have a choice in the matter, even from a biological standpoint.  This also ties in nicely (and unexpectedly) to Mike’s quiet desperation about his own dateless state.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Joshua on January 18, 2011 - 7:31 AM

    I still can’t account for where Mike got the big, floofy tail. Government experiment, maybe? At any rate it comes in handy. Whenever people on #xkcd start arguing, I hand the floofy tail to the aggressor. No one can stay mad while fuzzing on the tail. 🙂

  2. #2 by Joshua on January 18, 2011 - 8:11 AM

    I’ve implemented revision control on the master text file (ftp://ftp.lakemasoniccenter.org/pub/darthFerret.txt) so that folks can keep track of the updates. I currently only have the $Id$ header in the file. Let me know if you also want the $Log$ header.

  3. #3 by Joshua on January 18, 2011 - 8:29 AM

    And I really wish I could somehow save Wildy from her arranged marriage. It breaks my heart to think of someone so awesome forced into marriage with someone she likely cares nothing about. Ferrets are assholes sometimes. 😦

Leave a Reply

