Random Thoughts of the Day

  1. My brain forms odd thoughts sometimes.
    In the checkout line at the store, for some reason, I was re-designing major organ systems with bioengineering in mind.  At one point my mind formed the (oddly complete) thought “not being the owner of a set of female genitalia, I cannot speak to the relative advantages or disadvantages of one design over another.”  It was at that point, I actually paused and wondered why I was trying to redesign the body.
  2. Colds give you odd dreams.
    You know the kind of dreams I consider “normal.”  They’re far from what most consider normal.  And the one I had earlier this morning was… odd by my standard.  And very very very squicky.  I understand WHY they were:  I hate taking care of sick people and yet I had no trouble with taking care of someone I had feelings for, even though I really really really hate sick people.  Which brings us to my next point:
  3. I think I figured it out:  My odd dreams are my brain’s way of teaching me shit I already know.
    I first learned to play Chapman Stick in a dream.  Because I had seen people playing it and know enough music theory to figure it out, my unconscious mind did all the dirty work and taught it to me while I slept.  I learned Spanish and Quenya almost the same way.  Lately I’ve been learning other useful things.
  4. Someone should invent heated keyboards.
    My fingers keep getting cold when I’m coding.  And that sucks because they’re less responsive and can’t sense touch well enough to know if I’ve hit the key or not.
  5. Fingertip callouses are excellent for playing stringed instruments.
    Without them, the constant irritation from the friction of the strings causes blisters.  The bad part is that now I have reduced touch sensitivity (primarily on my left hand) and that makes it even harder to type with cold hands.
  6. 15:55:55 looks really neat on a BCD-mode binary clock

MORE:  Since I was discussing shell prompts earlier, here are all of mine:

dustpuppy 2% exec ksh
(dustpuppy) $ exec bash
green [imbrius@dustpuppy ~]$ exec zsh
[imbrius@dustpuppy]~% exec csh
When the speaker and he to whom he is speaks do not understand, that is
metaphysics.
                -- Voltaire
 16:14:54 up 7 days,  2:41,  2 users,  load average: 0.07, 0.07, 0.10
USER     TTY      FROM              LOGIN@   IDLE   JCPU   PCPU WHAT
imbrius  pts/0    uglyduckling.lak 16:03   10:42   0.08s  0.08s -sh
imbrius  pts/1    192.168.0.219    16:13    0.00s  0.64s  0.00s /usr/bin/w
You have mail.
dustpuppy 1%

Explanation: I started off in CSH (the BSD C-shell written by Bill Joy) which I use for normal work, then switched to KSH (the Xerox Korn shell) which I use for system administration work, then switched to BASH (the GNU Bourne-Again shell) which I only use for root’s login shell, then ZSH (the Student Z Shell) which I don’t use but which is insanely flexible, then back to CSH (which re-exec’d my login scripts since I switch users often).

Here’s what root’s prompts look like under CSH, BASH, and ZSH (KSH is broken for root):

dustpuppy 3# exec bash
green [root@dustpuppy ~]# exec zsh
[root@dustpuppy]~# 
,

  1. #1 by Joshua on January 2, 2011 - 5:15 PM

    Oh and today from OkCupid, my three matches were an average Midwestern farm girl (nothing wrong, just nothing in common with her), a scary blond whose profile started “I can’t get up in the morning without Fox News.” I didn’t read any further before hitting the reject button. The third match was a girl (presumably) who put up a picture of her parents as her profile pic and her entire profile was the 23rd Psalm.

    Didn’t someone say OkCupid was a dating site? So far I’ve been harassed by a Senior-Citizen little person, gotten matched with checkout counter candy products, and read profiles for raving Republicans, 20 year old women with 2 kids, and absolute psychos.

    Does it ever get less stupid? There has to be a way to weed out people who answer the question “Is the earth or the sun the center of the solar system?” with anything other than the sun. And there has to be women out there who (a) aren’t batshit insane and (b) don’t already have 2 kids at age 20 without ever having been married.

  2. #2 by Phillip on January 2, 2011 - 7:56 PM

    I’ve noticed #2. Most of the time mine give me a really weird feeling too. Kind of like I’m infinitesimally small and the world is growing around me.

    #3, I wish I could do half the stuff I do in my dreams.

    Lastly, I’d get behind #4. I know exactly what you mean..except I don’t code…but otherwise.

Leave a Reply

