Help me figure this out

Start here:

From one frying pan to another fire

From one frying pan to another fire

I’m still with them so far:  He just told her he’s a dragon and she’s taken aback.

It's a fancy restaurant so he likely has a good hour.

It's a fancy restaurant so he likely has a good hour.

Still with them.

Revenge is a dish with odd ways of serving.

Revenge is a dish with odd ways of serving.

Kay.  Backstory.

You don't even want to know how calculus worked.

You don't even want to know how calculus worked.

More backstory.

Great Expectations.

Great Expectations.

Yet more backstory.

Two households, both alike in dignity...

Two households, both alike in dignity...

Still there but between panels two and four, I lose empathy with Alexsi.

He also squeezes the toothpaste tube from the middle.

He also squeezes the toothpaste tube from the middle.

And now I have no empathy whatsoever with either of them.  And I’m irritated and hurt for some reason.

WTF?  So as is my way, I dissected this.

  1. I’ve been in this situation up until Alexsi warms up to Pyroduck.  I can empathize with Pyroduck up until the end.  I quickly lose empathy with Alexsi.
  2. The last panel listed makes me irritated because logic says that shouldn’t be.
  3. So fuck logic – it doesn’t help here.  Empathize.
  4. I’m not hurt, I’m scared. I don’t know what that situation is supposed to feel like.  I know it’s something I hope to experience but the feelings needed and courses of action are foreign to me.  It’s never happened to me and I can’t synthesize and emotion to cover this eventuality.  In short, I’m scared that when that time comes for me, I’ll miss it by being completely oblivious.  Mainly because I won’t be able to empathize with the girl, just as I can’t empathize with Alexsi.  I’ll know when I like her.  But I’ll have no way of knowing if she likes me.  How can I know when something “just works” for both people if I’m only one?

Well that helped me figure it out.  I still feel scared and alone when I read this though.

,

  1. #1 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 6:59 AM

    • #2 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 5:44 PM

      LOL Florence was a damn cute puppy!

  2. #3 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 7:13 AM

    Mirror logic: while washing hands, a chill ran up my spine. this date arc is leading up to something. And I can already feel it. That which was averted the last time will not be again. I know this for an absolute fact that barring catastrophe (not merely inconvenience), there will be an in-panel kiss.

    And though I (a) completely understand and (b) even agree that this is the best possible outcome, given infinite possibilities (it’s certainly what I’d want for them if I knew them both personally), I still have trouble actually dealing with it. I know I’ll get used to it over time. I’ve been here before many times. It still doesn’t get any easier.

Leave a Reply

