Randomness Pt. 1,000,391

1) I ❤ my router. It consistently gets months and months of uptime, and it’ll tell me how much bandwidth we’ve used. So far this month it’s sitting at 184.08 GB; this year it’s at…whoa..that’s high.. 1,936.57 GB. I’ll be damned.

2) I got the paperwork from my insurance company for how much my dentist got paid from my last 2 visits. For 2 1-hour blocks he got $837.90 and I “have” to pay $302.10 more. I’ve never actually had to worry about my bit. Though, it does make a mention that my deductible of $25 is satisfied.

3) I have to go in for a root canal on the 4th. I don’t exactly have an abscess, but my nerve is dead. I’ve noticed this for the past visit or so, but the dental assistant will go up to whoever is doing scheduling and tell them to put me in her block.

4) For the past 3 years I’ve been on some type of medication on Christmas.

5) I’m getting a Samsung N150 for the hell of it. Windows 7 on my laptop isn’t exactly a speed demon; the netbook is powered by an Atom N450 running Windows 7. Guess what’s not staying on there. So, I’m thinking either Ubuntu Netbook Edition, MeeGo, Jolicloud, or lastly, openSUSE. Any thoughts?

6) My gramps wanted nothing to do with the picking of his and my grammas headstone. All he said was that he didn’t want the coloring because it was an extra $1000 or so. So, my mom and uncle picked out a white one with engraved roses, a polish saying, and brass features (lettering, cross, etc). My gramps then decided he didn’t like the brass features because they can be ripped off. Now those are going to be engraved and covered with gold leaf. Now, the roses, he doesn’t know if he wants those in color or leafed yet. Either way, they’re going to need touching up every other year or so. I just don’t understand the logic here. Oh, and we found out the size of the thing and it’s supposed to be 4’x2’6″ and sitting atop its base.

7) My aunt is really, REALLY, batshit crazy. No one wants to go there for Christmas with my uncle still at work. My gramps even said he doesn’t want to go there. I can tell you exactly what’s going to happen too; we’re going to arrive a half hour late to her slamming stuff around and yelling. Christmas dinner is definitely harder to make than Thanksgiving and she has enough of a problem with just a bird. She’s the one that asked for a “copy of the receipt” for grammas funeral (seriously, why the fuck would anyone want that?), asked my gramps if he’d be getting a refund from Ruth Hospice because gramma died within a number of days..and one that she’ll never live down..she slashed my uncle and they had the whole Psycho blood streaks all through the kitchen.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 12:03 AM

    Huh. Never thought to check my bandwidth usage. I’ve only got this month and last month. So far this month I’m up to 234.24 GB, and last month I was at 312.37 GB. Which, considering that it’s the 20th, seems like I’m fairly consistent on that. Would put my usage for the year at around 4 TB, if it’s held steady for the year.

    • #2 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 12:24 AM

      I thought I loved the bandwidth. Jeezy creezy man. There were a couple months where I was sitting pretty at ~50 GB, then it just jumped to about 200-250GB in March. Coincidentally, that’s about the same time I switched to a different newsgroup server. *whistles and does shifty eyes*

  2. #3 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 12:04 AM

    Oh, and while I have some fairly positive feelings regarding OpenSUSE, I think the Ubuntu Netbook Edition would be my choice.

    • #4 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 12:31 AM

      I was half leaning towards U.N.E. because then I can screw around, break stuff, then try to fix it. I don’t think I can do that with some of the others, or maybe as easily. And I think I can do more with it.

      Though, MeeGo does look pretty.

      • #5 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 12:33 AM

        Having set up OpenSUSE and Ubuntu (non-netbook) on a laptop before, I will say the Ubuntu gave me a lot easier (read: lazier) install. Basically, everything just worked right away, leaving me to customize. With the OpenSUSE, I had to spend a bit of time (read: a couple days) getting stuff working.

        • #6 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 1:04 AM

          Lazier is almost always better. I remember playing around with both of them way back when. Maybe 5 years ago for Ubuntu and 11 years ago for openSUSE. Neither worked right away.

          My latest foray into Ubuntu was with my laptop and I think the only work I had to do was with getting it to work like a tablet. That’s understandable though because most laptops don’t have those things. It’s probably going to end up being UNE.

      • #7 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 12:34 AM

        And I couldn’t speak to MeeGo, except to say that I’m not sure I like their style. But style’s a very individual thing, so…yeah.

      • #8 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 12:36 AM

        And while I suspect a netbook is one of the platforms ideal for such a thing, Jolicloud is really unappealing for me.

        • #9 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 12:59 AM

          One thing I don’t like about it is that it doesn’t really look like you can do much. It just becomes an appliance instead of remaining a computer.

  3. #10 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 5:34 AM

    I second Chad’s recommendation of Ubuntu Netbook Edition. If anything it’s the direction Ubuntu is headed overall and I’ve heard very good things about it.

    • #11 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 10:17 AM

      The one problem I have is that I’ve heard it doesn’t use standard commands, or something along those lines. Though I suppose that’s easy enough to work around.

      • #12 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 2:27 PM

        That I don’t know much about. I do know that they’ve dumped their previous desktop environment of X11 + GNOME in favor of something different and lighter weight for the netbooks. But overall, the look and feel should be the same (It is GTK based, like GNOME) even if the API is different.

  4. #13 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 5:41 AM

    From my router’s external interface:
    05:40:09 up 247 days, 17:19, 1 user, load average: 0.77, 0.76, 0.48
    RX bytes:1457736629 (1.3 GiB) TX bytes:1771996541 (1.6 GiB)

    That’s 1.3G received over 247 days. It makes sense that there’s more data transmitted than received since I host four websites, three e-mail domains, and Minecraft.

    • #14 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 5:46 AM

      Still, not a whole lot of bandwidth usage.

      • #15 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 7:22 AM

        Yeah, surprisingly little, considering Phil and I, and your hosting activities. Clearly, sir, you are a Russian spy, here to quietly steal all our bandwidth in order to return it to the mother country and your communist masters. I, for one, will have no part in it. Adieu.

        • #16 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 7:23 AM

          It also explains the beard, and the awkwardness around our capitalist women…

        • #17 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 8:09 AM

          Normally it’s Matt that’s accusing people of being Soviet spies.

        • #18 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 10:30 AM

          Well..I wouldn’t exactly say we’re in the norm for usage. I just don’t know how people can make do with only 10 GB a month.

          He obviously can’t be Russian. Maybe Belarusian?

          • #19 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 1:46 PM

            Still, a commie.

          • #20 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 2:11 PM

            Oh yeah. Since Belarus and Russia work so closely together, maybe he’s on loan?

      • #21 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 8:11 AM

        Ah. That’s the problem. The system uptime is 247 days but the interface gets reset periodically. And I don’t log bandwidth usage (the router has only a 166MHz CPU so I try to minimize overhead). Sorry about that.

        • #22 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 10:34 AM

          I know mine has a 200Mhz CPU, and I have to try to get it to go down. But since the amount of memory it has is fairly low, I have it dumping the logs onto my desktop every hour or so.

          • #23 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 10:56 AM

            I’ve got enough hard drive space that logging wouldn’t cause an issue. But because RAM is limited, it swaps heavily during nightly cron runs.

          • #24 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 1:51 PM

            I, too, am at 200Mhz, and have never tried to get anything to go down, or dump logs anywhere. I just got the WRT54GL v1.1, and put Tomato on it, and everything’s been golden.

          • #25 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 2:08 PM

            I was going to suggest getting Tomato on it until I saw that you already had it. I happen to have a WRT54GS v4.0, so for all intents you and I have the same router. I’ve been kind of half keeping an eye out for a 801.11N/Gigabit router that I can run Tomato on since almost everything here can use those higher speeds.

          • #26 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 2:28 PM

            Mine’s a Dell OptiPlex GX1 downclocked to 166MHz so I don’t have to run a fan on the chip. It runs a stripped-down Red Hat Enterprise Linux called ClarkConnect.

  5. #27 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 8:22 AM

    For #3: I like root canals. If you truly have a dead nerve, then aside from some post-op soreness, there should be no pain at all.

    For #4: Every year around this time, I get a urinary tract infection.

    The doc says it’s because I’m not used to shoveling and over the summer my pelvic muscles atrophy and then when I shovel, I stress and strain them, causing irritation and inflammation (and possibly injury) to the urethra, so I’m used to being on antibiotics around Christmas time.

    #5: I’ve been thinking of getting a netbook. I wouldn’t want a full-blown laptop but something portable with net access would be perfect.

    #6: You’re right: your aunt is crazy. All mine are but only one of them approaches the level of crazy you describe. She’s far away from me in Mississippi now.

    • #28 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 8:38 AM

      I’m still quite happy with my ASUS with its long battery life. If fully charged, and with the screen brightness turned down to the lowest (still quite usable) level, I can surf the internet for hours on end without worrying about it.

      • #29 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 10:57 AM

        If I did get a netbook, I’d go for one that would run Linux.

      • #30 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 10:58 AM

        How long does the batter last now?

        • #31 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 1:43 PM

          I haven’t tested it to fail, but I’m still pulling about 7-7.5 hours out of it before it starts throwing low-battery alerts.

          • #32 by Chadwick on December 21, 2010 - 1:44 PM

            Oh, and that’s over two days use, on non-connected days of the week, so I think that’s pretty good.

          • #33 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 2:11 PM

            That doesn’t sound all that bad.

    • #34 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 10:57 AM

      #3, It’ll be my first one and he was explaining to me in detail about everything. It really didn’t sound too bad; the part that I’m most worried about is that I’ll be able to feel him digging around with whatever tool he uses, and then seeing whatever he pulls out. Beyond that, I’m not really too worried.

      #4, It’s primarily been antibiotics for whatever infection I have. I’ve had painful ear infections, sinus infections, and this last time my DDS wanted to give me in case there might be an infection. But even when I was little I was continually on stuff, and let me tell you, it’s no fun not being able to eat or drink..or even stay awake..on Christmas.

      #5, That’s all I really use my laptop for now, but the battery life is absolutely horrendous. The N150 has, I think, a 10.1″ display where my lappy has a 12.1″, so it’s not that big of a change. I figured too that if I put some flavor of Linux on it that it’d help compensate for the performance difference.

      #6, Before we went out truck hunting this summer, dad was driving my car because I was dropping off another truck somewhere. He had this misfortune of going to their house and waiting because that’s where he thought we were. She called my uncle every 2 minutes telling him that dad was outside and asking WTF he was doing there. Then she went outside and just started screaming at dad to get the fuck away. My gramps also refuses to drive past their house now because if she sees him she’ll start a fight about him snooping around.

      • #35 by Joshua on December 21, 2010 - 2:22 PM

        #3: If the endodontist uses anesthetic, you won’t feel anything. At any rate, even without anesthetic, instrumenting the canals feels just like using a nail file on your fingernails.

        Seeing what’s going on in the tooth is neat to me – my endo uses a surgical microscope. He also has a TV screen for the patient to watch TV or movies while the endo works. I ask him to feed the surgical camera into the TV screen so I can see what he’s doing. It’s damn fascinating what goes on inside a tooth!

        As far as seeing what comes out, here’s a picture of necrotic tooth pulp. (Healthy pulp is more pink than brown.) It was extracted with a number 20 broach file as part of the first steps of a root canal. Once the large mass of pulp is out from the pulp chamber, all that’s usually left inside the canals are tiny bits that come out on the files. Be glad it’s gone: Even if the pulp is dead, it can still harbor bacteria that can cause painful abcesses. Unless you specifically ask to see it, the endodontist normally doesn’t show you the bits he removes or even the files, microscopes, and other implements he uses. If you look very closely at an endodontic file, you can see that it’s a precision instrument with very carefully cut ridges, grooves, blades, and rasps. Each file does a slightly different task in a different part of the canals. This is why a root canal procedure takes as long as it does: The dentist needs to ensure that each canal is scraped clean of any tissue that could become infected. That’s also where the bleach solution comes in. And yes, you will smell the bleach but it’s not strong at all. (And trust me, bleach smells much better than necrotic, decaying tooth pulp!)

        #6 is definitely a not-fun situation. I hope she gets help for whatever condition she has.

        • #36 by Phillip on December 21, 2010 - 4:47 PM

          #3, I’ll admit, as much as I may not like going to the dentist, it is interesting to watch what they’re doing. Yay for reflections! I do remember looking at some of the tools they use and it’s really amazing that they manage to be accurate with that stuff. But that actually really helped. I know everything’ll go just fine, I know the nerve is dead (he did the whole placing of the freezing cold thing on the tooth) so whatever I feel will just be me, so I guess the only thing is to have it happen.

          #6, A few years ago she was ordered into psychiatric care for a minimum of half a year or so. She tried to get out of it by having one of her sisters (I believe she’s a psychiatrist) come and say that she’s not needing to go into that. Her sister came up, talked with her, and refused to say that she didn’t need the help. To make a long story short, if the person doesn’t believe they need help, they sadly won’t go for it. I really think that she should be getting treatment too.

Leave a Reply

