The Furry Quizzes

Only because Chad told me to.

The first one is short and not very well written in my opinion.  I scored a 75%.

The second one is longer and much better written but puts far too much weight on sexuality (and I have a beef with being biased toward bisexuals).  I scored 61%.  But that Oryx is pretty damn hot for an ungulate.

And finally, if you choose to consider yourself a furry, then stand up and be counted as one.  It’s actually a very well-written survey that’s as accurate as an open internet survey can be.  The results page is pretty interesting and real-time.

Bonus points from me if you not only post your results but tell about your first furry experience.  (Mine was watching Disney’s Robin Hood when I was 8.  Don Bluth’s staff knew exactly what they were doing when they made the two leads foxes.  Tell me you don’t absolutely melt during Maid Marian’s song, with her long eyelashes fluttering invitingly and the moonlight reflecting off of her crystal-clear eyes.  There’s a reason animation costs $5.66 per frame.  And yes, I know that most of the character animation in that movie was rotoscoped off of The Aristocats.  It still turned out great.)

Now go read some furry comics.  My favorites are Freefall, Sequential Art, and Dan and Mab’s Furry Adventures.

And finally, some art:

Krystal: Everyone's Favorite Blue Vixen II: Controversy

It's okay. Everyone's a little furry for Krystal.

Hah.  And you thought I was going to post yet another Minerva Mink pic.  Come on people, I’m not that predictable.  And Star Fox is an awesome game anyway.

,

  1. #1 by Joshua on December 19, 2010 - 6:54 PM

    Lest we run into the No True Scotsman problem here, I’m using WikiFur’s definitions which tend to be inclusive, rather than exclusive. The bottom line is that in this case the True Scotsman participates in or identifies with at least one aspect of the Furry Fandom: Lifestyle, Creativity, Community, or Fetish. Anyone who can honestly say that they participate in or identify with at least one of those aspects can reasonably be considered “a furry” and be taken as seriously as they wish in the fandom.

    Half-assed titles like “pseudofur” don’t make much sense in my opinion because either (a) it’s being used as a term of exclusion from within (say, for example, someone is into furry comics and movies but not the lifestyle or fursuiting might think of himself as “a furry” but be told he’s “just a pseudofur” because he doesn’t do everything the self-titled True Scotsmen do) or (b) it’s adopted by someone who is in denial or afraid of the possible implications of admitting to being furry. This serves to isolate the person from the community of people who are most likely to understand where they’re coming from.

  2. #2 by Chadwick on December 20, 2010 - 2:22 PM

    Alright. Gave this a shot on Friday or something, but didn’t get the time to post it ’til now.

    I scored more consistently than you did. On the shorter quiz, I scored a solid 58%. I thought it was kind of funny, ’cause it declares that I’m “furrier than most” with my score, which places me above only 42% of “my peers.” Naturally, of course, it still makes sense as people who have no knowledge of the community/fetish/etc. are far less likely to be taking the test, but I still thought it was amusing.

    Anyway, on the latter, longer test, I scored a near-identical 62%. It was a good bit more detailed, which interestingly, bumped me into the top half of scorers (more furry than 51%).

    And the Oryx didn’t really do it for me; the art style was a little off for me, and she seemed a little too horny (puns are not punishable by death, I hope).

    • #3 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:29 PM

      Assuming you meant the things sticking out of her head, I never found horns to be all that distracting.

      And no, puns are only punishable by defenestration which is rarely fatal if the window one is thrown out of happens to be on the first floor.

      • #4 by Chadwick on December 20, 2010 - 2:34 PM

        What if the window’s at ground level because it’s a partially-exposed lower floor?

        • #5 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:35 PM

          Hmm… that just happened to be covered in floor spikes? Then I’d assume fatality.

    • #6 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:30 PM

      And to clarify, the Oryx wasn’t that hot (you all know my Blonde Standard by now I hope) but still not terrible either in art style or anthro-factor.

      • #7 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:31 PM

        To clraify more fully, the “blonde standard” was an attempted mutation of “gold standard.” Not a specific coloration standard.

    • #8 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:32 PM

      Interesting results. I had you pegged for far a far higher score on the second quiz, given the HF stumbles you sent me and the artists we both like (even if DAQ is a bit too fond of rodentia).

      • #9 by Chadwick on December 20, 2010 - 2:35 PM

        And a bit too…uh, soft…for my usual tastes.

        • #10 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:36 PM

          Ah. Just right for me. Most of HF ends up far too hard. Don’t forget who you’re dealing with here (adopts gaze of wide-eyed innocence).

        • #11 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:37 PM

          Unless “soft” was yet another furry pun. Which in that case (and to beat a gorgeous blonde dead horse), there’s nothing too soft for me.

        • #13 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:38 PM

          And if you’re talking Saccharine facial features, yes. I know. His mice look like they belong in a 1939 Merry Melodies cartoon.

          • #14 by Chadwick on December 20, 2010 - 3:21 PM

            No, that’s actually just fine.

          • #15 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 4:05 PM

            Huh. See that’s a major sticking point for me. That’s one of the reasons I don’t go for Dot from Animaniacs or Babs from Tiny Toons even though they’re pretty popular. They seem too saccharine.

  3. #16 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:39 PM

    Say, is the Krystal pic still up? I can’t see it – could be the filter at work cause it comes from a game review site.

  4. #18 by Joshua on December 20, 2010 - 2:47 PM

    Oh, and on the rotoscoping referenced above – go back and rewatch the Aristocats. Even at 15FPS, Duchess’ hips are positively hypnotic (pun intended). Which explains why Rita the Cat on Animaniacs (whose moves were based partially on Duchess) has such a fan following. (It helps that Bernadette Peters is still pretty hot at 62!) Sadly they (Rita and Duchess) aren’t anthro enough for me, whereas Robin Hood was just right. Again, Don Bluth. Reference his other works. Every one of them an icon of furry fandom.

  5. #19 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 7:28 AM

    Hey, Chad – are you on RoadRunner? Only looking at the accesslog for the text file I stumbled you, I see IP addresses for the following:

    Me
    StumbleUpon
    Layer42 Operations (network solutions provider)
    Amazon.com (?)
    Someone on RoadRunner

    I’m sincerely hoping you’re the Someone on RoadRunner entry. I specifically didn’t click “Like” because I didn’t want anyone else accidentally stumbling on it.

    • #20 by Chadwick on December 22, 2010 - 8:05 AM

      Lol. I am on RR. Though sending it via stumble seems to get it filed with them, whether you liked it or not.

      • #21 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 8:09 AM

        Filed is fine but I’m watching closely for now. BTW, I’m at work so I can’t see stumbles but please reply to the stumble and let me know your thoughts. You do recognize what it is, right? And you understand why I’m keeping it under wraps for now? I appreciate your understanding on this issue.

        • #22 by Chadwick on December 22, 2010 - 8:34 AM

          It’s all good. And working at it.

          • #23 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 8:42 AM

            You guys are awesome. :) I’m really looking forward to tomorrow. I’m even making myself a sticky note that has an ethanol molecule on it with a line through it so I remind myself and everyone else that I shouldn’t drink that night.

          • #24 by Chadwick on December 22, 2010 - 8:48 AM

            Well, you could have a couple drinks, so long as they’re early enough in the event.

          • #25 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 8:52 AM

            Okay. Internet Explorer officially sucks.

            Anyway, I guess I could. I just don’t have much faith in my ability to stop after “a few…”

          • #26 by Chadwick on December 22, 2010 - 9:20 AM

            I thought you did fine at Von Trier; I mean that was a fairly significant drink, but you seemed to know when to stop and where your limits were.

          • #27 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 9:25 AM

            I sat in the car for 3 hours in the cold before I felt comfortable driving and even then I probably shouldn’t have.

            Not to mention being terribly hung over the next day, though I think I’ve figured that out – my SSRIs have an alcohol advisory that they may affect the way my body processes alcohol. I notice that if I DON’T take the SSRI on nights I’ve been drinking, I don’t get as nasty a hangover. I still get the shakes and terrible dizziness though.

          • #28 by Chadwick on December 22, 2010 - 9:48 AM

            Hooray for psychiatric medication.

          • #29 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 9:53 AM

            Well it does help. I’d rather live with all the inconveniences than lose control of my CNS at random times.

          • #30 by Joshua on December 22, 2010 - 9:55 AM

            Come to think of it, though, I drank a White Russian with Alicia, MacKenzie, and Bob and had no problems. And I routinely drink beer with dinner with no issues. And two nights ago I finished off the 1.5 ounces of rum in the plastic bottle with my glass of pineapple juice. And mom my said I was becoming an alcoholic because I was drinking at home alone.

  1. MindHack

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

