Servers From Joe

Josh (and anyone else who’s interested),

Remember I talked to you last week about Joe having some extra servers he’d be willing to part with? They are all Dell Poweredge 2850 servers with the following specs:

  • 2x Dual-Core 2.6-3.0 Ghz processors
  • 4 to 8 GB of RAM
  • Dual 36GB 10,000 RPM SCSI drives
  • Dual 1GB Ethernet ports

I would assume the rest of the specs line up with the official 2850 documentation: http://www.dell.com/downloads/global/products/pedge/en/2850_specs.pdf

Joe may also have a series of 500GB hard drives available.

I’m not sure if he was intending in reselling these cheap or gifting them to interested parties. That said, let me know if you’re interested and I’ll give you his contact information or act as an intermediary.

  1. #1 by Joshua on November 30, 2010 - 9:32 AM

    !! I know those machines. The PE2850 series was insanely successful. If he’s gifting, I’ll take one. If he’s selling, I might be interested. I’d be willing to exchange the Sun E420R for one, actually.

    As long as they’re not hot – those should still have significant resale value. I’d be very surprised to find any enterprise just pitching fully-functional servers less than 10 years old.

    • #2 by Joshua on November 30, 2010 - 9:33 AM

      Also, they should be the six-bay models, right? Does he have any more 10KRPM SCSI drives to fill out the other 4 bays?

    • #3 by Joshua on November 30, 2010 - 9:37 AM

      Also, 36GB is a bit puny. If I did get one I may have to hop on Dell.com and see if I can get some 146GB drives instead.

  2. #4 by Andrew D. on December 2, 2010 - 8:35 AM

    Well, Joe went on vacation and came back this week to find they had already dumpstered the 2850’s. Joe says they have some decommissioned 2950’s they’re looking to sell and he’ll get back to Kurt (and thus down the telephone game to me) when he knows a price.

    • #5 by Andrew D. on December 2, 2010 - 4:45 PM

      $1000 for a Dell 2950.
      $1000 for a HP DL385 with dual quad cores, 16GB of RAM.

      • #6 by Joshua on December 2, 2010 - 5:29 PM

        Too rich for my blood.

      • #7 by Joshua on December 2, 2010 - 5:45 PM

        Thanks anyway.

Leave a Reply

