I Hate My Teeth

It has to be something genetic because no one on my mom’s side of the family can go long without needing dental work. So, today, I went to the dentist again. And I have cavities…again. I’m not exaggerating when I say that after my braces were taken off I had 22 cavities; most were under the glue (where no liquids or foods should have gone). Today I found out that I have 7 of them, with 4 in one freaking tooth. How the hell does that even happen? Should I even have a tooth at that point?

More to the point, when they’re looking at your teeth they should not be going “Oh dear..that’s big.” or “Does it hurt? Is there any swelling? Seriously? Are you really sure?”

  1. #1 by Joshua on November 23, 2010 - 7:30 AM

    Sounds exactly like me. And the glue itself is corrosive to enamel. That’s how it holds. Everyone has boatloads of cavities after braces for just that reason. And I’ve had 4 in one tooth before. I’ve had 39 total, with 19 done on the same day. And I’ve heard the “wow, that’s a big hole! Does it hurt?” speech before when a filling fell out and I didn’t notice.

    • #2 by Phillip on November 23, 2010 - 11:04 AM

      Really? Then that’s yet another thing my orthodontists lied to me about. “Most people don’t have that problem.” and “You’re supposed to brush hard enough to cause your gums and teeth to bleed!” I swear that they are the most utterly incompetent people around. They’re the ones that put this plastic bubble into my mouth when it later turned out that rubber bands would work just as well.

      But the cause of the big hole is exactly what happened here; I had a couple fillings fall out. Luckily my guy is really quick; he books us for 45 minute blocks and only does work for about 20 of those minutes. And when you don’t like sitting in that chair, that really helps.

      • #3 by Joshua on November 23, 2010 - 11:15 AM

        Eh – I like oral conscious sedation. Sure, it takes 8 hours and you have to fast beforehand but you don’t notice or care that it took 8 hours. You wake up in the car on the way home with everything fixed and no memory of it whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

