Beer Tasting @ Joshy House

Saturday, November 27 Chad and Christa will be coming over to my house for a beer tasting.  Anyone else who wants to come is welcome.  We’re thinking late afternoon into evening, that way we can have crackers and cheese and sausages and things with the beer.

  1. #1 by Joshua on November 22, 2010 - 8:00 AM

    Is anyone besides Chad and Christa coming? And what time do you guys want to have it>

    • #2 by Chadwick on November 22, 2010 - 10:56 AM

      Hmm…Will have to consult the Christa and get back to you. Afternoon does sound good, potentially.

    • #3 by Christa on November 22, 2010 - 11:33 AM

      Is two good for you? It allows time for lunch, but then we can totally still have snacks. Maybe I can make cookies? Or something else? Is there anything you would like?

      • #4 by Joshua on November 22, 2010 - 11:37 AM

        Two sounds excellent. I told the churchypeople that I’m not doing the deacon thing that day so I’m free the entire day. Cookies sound awesome – I was going to get some beer-friendly cheeses and dried sausages like Landjäger. And of course, crackers and / or tiny breads.

        • #5 by Chadwick on November 22, 2010 - 12:30 PM

          I always see the Landjäger at Brennan’s, but I never looked into what it was, exactly.

          • #6 by Joshua on November 22, 2010 - 12:33 PM

            Dried beef and garlic sausage, usually sold in linked pairs from wooden carts at Biergärten. It’s the German equivalent of beef jerky.

          • #7 by Chadwick on November 22, 2010 - 2:50 PM

            Sounds awesome.

        • #8 by Christa on November 22, 2010 - 4:23 PM

          Okay, on the baked goods front, here’s a list of things I’m willing to make. What would you like?

          Butter cookies
          Buttermilk cookies
          Pepper cookies
          Pecan Tassies
          Snickerdoodles
          Corn Meal cookies
          Ginger cookies
          Apple Crumble and Custard
          Black Russian Cookies
          Pan Dulce

          • #9 by Joshua on November 22, 2010 - 5:05 PM

            Black Russian Cookies sound good. I know “Pan Dulce” means “sweet bread” but what is it in terms of cookies? Butter cookies, and pecan tassies sound good too. So I guess make whichever, lol.

          • #10 by Chadwick on November 22, 2010 - 5:19 PM

            My top 3 would be snickerdoodles, butter cookies, and ginger cookies. Ones that sound interesting include Pepper cookies, black russian cookies and corn meal cookies. Most others are fine, too, though you know me and pecans.

  2. #11 by Joshua on November 22, 2010 - 2:34 PM

    I also wanna get some Dogfish Head Bitch’s Brew. Was featured on the premiere of Brewmasters on Discovery last night.

  3. #12 by Phillip on November 24, 2010 - 12:03 AM

    Let me know if you want me to bring anything. I should be able to make it; I did some rescheduling and barring some huge problem somewhere, I’m all good.

    • #13 by Joshua on November 24, 2010 - 7:09 AM

      Awesome! Glad you can make it. MacKenzie’s coming too.

  4. #14 by Joshua on November 26, 2010 - 8:59 AM

    Can someone get ahold of Kriz? I invited her via Stumble but she hasn’t answered. Thanks!

  5. #15 by VisualHierarchy on November 27, 2010 - 5:33 PM

    I won’t be able to make it as I have to work a double that day :/

  6. #16 by Joshua on November 28, 2010 - 7:32 AM

    Who got the Blue Moon Grand Cru last night? I wanted to warn them that it’s bottle-conditioned, meaning there’s a layer of sediment on the bottom of the bottle (mostly dead yeast cells). The sediment is edible and tastes rather like cream of wheat. But if you don’t want to drink it, don’t feel you have to.

  7. #17 by Joshua on November 28, 2010 - 1:18 PM

    I wants to thanking all the peoples what came at mine beer party thing. It was most awesome.

    • #18 by Chadwick on November 29, 2010 - 8:27 AM

      Absolutely. Always a great time. We only opened half the beers that were present, but it’s really about the conversation, isn’t it?

      • #19 by Joshua on November 29, 2010 - 8:34 AM

        Yup. That was a fun one. Now that I paid you in beer, go and do my bidding! Muahahhaha! Or not. Your option, really. 🙂

        But you have until January 31 to find me at least a date. If I wake up 26 years old and still haven’t had a date since high school, I think I might just have a quarter-century crisis. No pressure ^_^

Leave a Reply

