Name the New Machine

The new box (left)

The new box (left)

Ignoring the dust, fingerprints, and scratches, please.  It’s an AMD Athlon64 single-core hyperthreaded @ 2.4GHz.  Dunno how much RAM but I’m betting it’s at least 1GB.  The plan is to install RHEL 5.5 for now (6.0 when the free edition comes out – right now only enterprise customers get 6.0).

Everything’s going to get racked sometime today, including HomelyGosling which may even get powered up.  The new box is going to run Minecraft and possibly a J2EE app server.

Now I need you guys to name the new box.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on November 14, 2010 - 7:25 AM

    Dark Portal?

    • #2 by Joshua on November 14, 2010 - 7:28 AM

      Definite possibility. Thanks! I’ll pick a winner when I install the OS. Then I’ll let everyone know.

  2. #3 by Joshua on November 14, 2010 - 6:50 PM

    It looks like I’m going to be doing the OS install on Wednesday evening so you have until then to submit names. I’ll choose the winner by whatever I like best at the time the setup tool asks me to pick a hostname. Whatever it is, it’ll end up being something like DarkPortal.lakemasoniccenter.org, with an alias to miner.lakemasoniccenter.org for Minecraft, and possibly steam.lakemasoniccenter.org, tf2.lakemasoniccenter.org, or source.lakemasoniccenter.org for TF2.

  3. #4 by Chadwick on November 15, 2010 - 7:34 AM

    Herobrine

  4. #10 by Chadwick on November 15, 2010 - 11:21 AM

    Hurricane Hallucination

  5. #11 by Andrew D. on November 16, 2010 - 2:12 PM

    A series of ridiculous names based on its Minecraft and Java-platform activities. Well, that, and the fact that I like alliteration.

    Creeper’s Blend
    The Bedrock Brew
    Java ‘n’ Lava
    The House That Coffee Built
    Javacraft
    J2EE_ITS_A_CREEPER

    • #12 by Joshua on November 16, 2010 - 7:25 PM

      Thanks for the input. I’ll announce the winner tomorrow evening. You get my extra box of Pocky if you win.

    • #13 by Joshua on November 18, 2010 - 6:33 PM

      Much as I love Herobrine and Dark Portal, I think Dorney wins this one with Javacraft. So Dorney gets my extra box of Pocky. The next time I see him.

Leave a Reply

