Today I Visited an Audiologist

I normally get tested every other year or so, and I don’t really like the test. I can say that from last time to this time, my hearing has remained unchanged. Somehow. But, I did find out exactly why it was that my hearing isn’t so hot. It has something to do with my inner ears, but, every single picture of an ear that I look at shows that the is empty, or there’s nothing really there except these hair things. So this guy and I were talking and firstly, it’s genetic; that one’s kind of obvious, one of my brothers also has a hearing problem. Secondly, there’s a membrane that floats above the stereocilia that have the cilia sticking through little holes and when there’s a shearing action the cilia release ions that travel along the nervous system. I try to learn something new every day.

My audiograph is apparently very similar to a certain disorder. After all these years, it’s kind of nice to actually know what caused it.

  1. #1 by Joshua on October 28, 2010 - 7:41 AM

    But I take it there still isn’t any treatment or cure for it?

    • #2 by Phillip on October 29, 2010 - 12:24 AM

      That there isn’t.

Leave a Reply

