Skylights and Mushrooms

I dug out a mushroom cave to grow the mushrooms I found when I first logged in:

My mushroom cave on my mom's XP box

My mushroom cave on my mom's XP box

But I have a problem:  I planted a tree in my hole and made a skylight above the tree so it would grow.  But now chickens keep falling through my skylight.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on October 28, 2010 - 5:29 AM

    Probably better off growing the tree by torchlight. Or making some glass to have a proper skylight.

    • #2 by Joshua on October 28, 2010 - 7:44 AM

      I’ll have to look up the recipe for glass. I’m at workee and they’ve got Minecraft Wiki blocked.

      It’s funny ’cause certain posts cause Teh Table to get blocked but it’s never the ones I expect. Anything related to TF2 or WoW causes it to get blocked but Minecraft, DoTT, etc. don’t. Also, anything with alcohol gets it blocked except Sprecher recommendations that aren’t in the alcohol category and don’t specifically mention “beer.”

      I also don’t think our blocking software reads comments. Fnord.

      • #3 by Chadwick on October 28, 2010 - 2:07 PM

        Glass is melting down sand in your forge. Forge is a circle of 8 cobblestone in your workbench grid (hole in the middle, obviously).

        • #4 by Joshua on October 28, 2010 - 4:46 PM

          Thanks for the tip! Now I have a proper skylight and the chickens don’t fall through anymore.

  2. #5 by Chadwick on October 28, 2010 - 5:30 AM

    Also, I wish I could figure out why my screenshots are going all black.

    • #6 by Joshua on October 28, 2010 - 7:42 AM

      That’s a video driver issue – I had the same thing with Counterstrike back in the day and recently with WoW and TF2. Though I’ve always had NVIDIA cards and IIRC, you’ve had ATI (now AMD) cards.

      • #7 by Chadwick on October 28, 2010 - 2:06 PM

        Well, this particular build has an Intel chip and an nVidia card; so very unlike me. But anyway, I got like 3 or 4 screenshots out, and then it just decided to black out the rest of them. Which sucks.

        • #8 by Joshua on October 28, 2010 - 2:13 PM

          Yeah that bug is inconsistent. About 25% of my TF2 screenies worked and the others failed. Try falling back to an older NVIDIA driver. That helped me for TF2 (although it had other bugs IIRC).

  3. #9 by Chadwick on October 28, 2010 - 4:51 PM

    Oh, thought you might also be interested in this mining guide. Lots of useful/interesting info in there.

Leave a Reply

