The perils of USENET

Everyone knows that you can get pr0n on USENET and Rule 34 applies as much here as on 4chan.  I was reminded of this today when I read my daily system notifications:


The following files are unowned:
431686 634624307 -rw-rw-r-- 19367 news 12901 0 Dec 31 1969 /var/spool/news/overview/a/b/n/c/m/alt.binaries.nude.celebrities.male.DAT

They’ve been assigned to nobody:nogroup – please find out who they belong to and assign the proper ownership.

-cron daemon on dustpuppy

Now I’ll confess to never having checked how many posts are in alt.binaries.nude.celebrities.male but I don’t think I’m saddened any that its spool file is corrupt. I’ll see if any of the Lodge brothers (or church members!) complain about the lack of gay celebrity pr0n on the news server.

As to why I’m even carrying it, I’m on auto-subscribe to any NEWGROUP control messages so I end up carrying assloads of groups I never intended to. Once in a while (when the spool starts filling up), I go through and prune out those not in comp.*, alt.unix.*, etc.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

