A good German dinner

Since we had apples, sweet kraut, onions, and sausages in the house, I decided that we should have a German-style sausage dinner.  My mom reluctantly agreed.  I browned the sausages, sautéed the onions, added apple juice and apple slices and cooked them until they were tender.  Then I added half a can of Frank’s sweet kraut and put the sausages back in.  After it all cooked together for a while, I strained and served.

I ate it with my last bottle of Sam Adams Oktoberfest.  I thought it was freaking amazing.  Just insanely good.  My mom not so much.  She’s not into sausages or kraut so it was double nasty for her.  While cooking it smelled sweet and wonderful to me but right before I started serving, she said that she could smell the stench from the other room.  Just different tastes, I guess.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on October 18, 2010 - 8:33 PM

    Kraut of any variety isn’t really my thing, and I don’t know about the specific sausages you may have used (broadly-speaking, I approve of sausage, but there are exceptions), but that sounds pretty good. Glad you enjoyed, even if you were the only one.

  2. #2 by Phillip on October 19, 2010 - 2:28 PM

    German food is kind of good. I don’t know how anyone couldn’t like kraut, either. But then, I’ve been eating it more or less all my life too.

    Though, the best German food I’ve eaten had to have been the beef rouladen at the Golden Mast. I would love to go out there again for a bite to eat.

Leave a Reply

