Quick Question

“No, my cousin is in town,” counts as a rejection, right? I think it does but you know me – I have no clue when it comes to what people actually mean. The context is that I asked this near-future honors grad of UW-Whitewater if she wanted to go somewhere tonight. Her answer was “No, my cousin is in town.” As I said, I think that’s a rejection. At any rate, I won’t say anything about it. She knows where to find me.

  1. #1 by Joshua on October 16, 2010 - 7:09 PM

    Note to self: Never post with “Browse like a Pirate” enabled.

  2. #2 by Chadwick on October 16, 2010 - 10:07 PM

    Tough question. Her cousin might legitimately be in town. If she’s got (or just feels) some obligation to keep said cousin entertained during the visit, it might not be an outright rejection.

    Of course, even assuming that, it still could be a rejection. Or it could be an excuse.

    More data needed to formulate a correct response.

    • #3 by Joshua on October 17, 2010 - 8:02 AM

      FYI the original quote was “I don’t know… my cousin’s in town.”

    • #4 by Phillip on October 17, 2010 - 10:41 AM

      I’m with you on this one. And given her full text, I’d think it banks on intonation.

      Now, if she doesn’t like her cousin, then I’d call that a rejection. But considering the fact that she sent a FB request, I wouldn’t exactly call it as such..unless she FB friends everything under the sun.

      I’m ambivalent to say one way or the other.

      • #5 by Joshua on October 17, 2010 - 11:49 AM

        Same here. Though it did cause me to update my employer on facebook. Nothing else has really changed since I signed in last year.

  3. #6 by Joshua on October 17, 2010 - 8:04 AM

    To add to the confusion, she sent a facebook friend request. I note that her relationship status isn’t publicly listed.

  4. #7 by Joshua on October 18, 2010 - 4:28 PM

    Update: It was a legitimate excuse. She messaged me on Facebook and said that after she graduates, we should go get coffee sometime. But right now she’s busy doing her senior project, a theatrical production.

Leave a Reply

