How Stupid Can I be?

Phlebotomy

Phlebotomy

  1. The nurse lady that did my blood draw yesterday was a complete moron.  She claims to have been an ER nurse for 10 years but she can’t find a vein with a map and flashlight.
  2. I told her which arm and even which vein usually works best for my blood draws.  She ignored me and used the other arm and one of the tiniest veins she could find.  Tiny vein means butterfly set, right?  Wrong.
  3. She missed the vein.  She went next to it.  It wasn’t pleasant.  I told her “You’re not in the vein!  OW!”  And she said, “I think I am in the vein.”  Then she popped the vacutainer on and nothing happened.  She said, “I guess I’m not.”  So rather than withdrawing slightly and re-angling, she just kept slamming the needle against the vein, saying “Huh.  I can feel the needle scraping against the vein but it just won’t go in.”  Meanwhile, I’m grunting and writhing in pain as the needle tears up my arm.
  4. So then she decides to try the other arm.  She even uses the vein I indicate AND just for good measure, a butterfly set!  I felt the needle go in the first time and I said, “You’re in.”  She said, “I don’t think so, I didn’t see any flashback.”  She popped on the vacutainer and it filled instantly.
  5. This is the part where MY stupidity comes into play.  As I was watching the blood flow through the tubing like a silly straw and fill up the little tube, I thought, “Wow.  That looks pretty…”  Then I woke up with a pillow under my head and my feet propped against a stool to keep me from sliding onto the floor.  I still felt sick so I moved to the bed.  You see, I do fine with blood draws as long as I don’t see the blood.  I’m fine with watching the needle go in as it doesn’t hurt that much.  But watching the blood fill up the tube makes me pass out.  I don’t know why.  I think it’s neat to watch but my brain doesn’t like it.
  6. Then the asshole lady refused to give my water – she said that she only had sink water and didn’t like people drinking sink water and she didn’t know where to get bottled water in the clinic.

There are nice ladies there that take blood fine and it’s a total non-issue.  She’s not one of them.

, ,

  1. #1 by Chadwick on September 26, 2010 - 12:06 PM

    Though you seem to have an unusually high incidence of people who are clueless about getting blood out of you.

    • #2 by Joshua on September 26, 2010 - 12:17 PM

      I’ve noticed. But I still think it’s the people taking the blood that are the dumb ones. (A): They don’t listen. (B): I have good (if tiny) veins. (C): I don’t generally write about the ones that go well. I get blood drawn 4 times a year and I’ve been getting it done for 6 years now. Most of the time, it’s a non-issue.

  2. #3 by Phillip on September 26, 2010 - 10:44 PM

    I’ve never really had that problem. I’ve actually been told I have really good veins (good..because if I had to go through the stuff that I’ve heard, I’d go nuts).

    Back when I was in….7th grade, I was ill with something. To this day, they have no idea what it was, but I had to go in every day for blood drawings for a week or 2 weeks. They always got it the first time and it was maybe a 5 minute ordeal.

    Now that I think about it, when I had my wisdom teeth taken out, I was knocked out and when the oral surgeon took out the needle I could just see my blood squirting out.

    “Wow, you have really good veins!”
    “Uhh…thanks?”

    • #4 by Joshua on September 27, 2010 - 12:17 PM

      The worst thing ever is watching heroin addicts use a vein that’s very close to the surface of the skin and not put pressure on the site after they withdraw the needle. The blood just runs down their arm/leg/whatever and they don’t give a shit.

Leave a Reply

