Rampant Apostrophe Abuse

Avast! Everyone knows ’bout the jackasses who wantonly pluralize nouns with apostrophes, but I saw the first verb conjugatin’ that included an apostrophe.

Yarrr! It was on the back o’ a dump truck an’ it said “Only God Know’s.” WTF? Apparently, every time a word ends ‘n ‘s,’ it now needs t’ be offset by a misplaced apostrophe. People shouldn’t pass English class if they abuse punctuatin’ ‘n this horrid manner.

,

  1. #1 by Joshua on September 26, 2010 - 11:11 AM

    LOL. I apologize for the pirate speak. I have Browse Like a Pirate turned on in Firefox. I guess it also makes me post like a pirate. I just viewed this from my mom’s box and noticed the problem.

  2. #2 by Phillip on September 26, 2010 - 10:34 PM

    I absolutely abhor bad grammar. Another one is that people don’t use commas in the right places, nor capitalization.

    i helped my uncle jack off a horse
    I helped my uncle, Jack, off a horse.
    I helped my Uncle Jack off a horse.

Leave a Reply

