Why TCO != Sticker Price

Cost of used Sun Enterprise 420R quad-processor rackmount server: $150 plus shipping (you guys still rock – that’s an awesome Christmas present!)

Cost of electricity to run said server for one year: $793.22.

For contrast, dustpuppy uses $385.60 worth of electricity per year.  It just so happens that at the moment, I can calculate it to be slightly larger than $1 per watt for one year – dustpuppy uses 350W and HomelyGosling uses 720W.  Math:

8736 hours in a year x .720kW x $0.12611 per kWh  = $793.22

I’ve got to start adding an energy surcharge onto my $0.00 hosting fees.  🙂

  1. #1 by Phillip on September 14, 2010 - 6:33 PM

    I’m afraid of what the energy bills will be if my PC uses it’s full PSU rating.

    Hmm…an extra $100 a month or so. Luckily I think it peaks at using only 450 watts or so.

    • #2 by Joshua on September 14, 2010 - 6:46 PM

      I calculated the wattage based not on the PSU rating (HomelyGosling would be 1240 then since each PSU can take 620 watts), but on the power drain it puts on my UPSes in voltamperes. mVA->watts conversion is in my Henley’s Formulas for Home and Office.

Leave a Reply

