Away

I have really been away from here for far too long.  It’s been something I keep meaning to come back and post for, but I think the fact that it’s been summer, allowing me to do little more than lay here has really sapped my motivation.  There’s been meals and wine that I’ve meant to blog, things I’ve seen, funny things that’ve happened, that all just kind of got eaten by apathy.  I’m really kind of hoping that returning to some sort of schedule coming up next week will restore some of my motivation, or at least put me in the right mindset to write a bit more often.

In the meantime, I hope you’ve all been well.  I’ll try to get some more stuff up here soon.

In somewhat unrelated news:  Josh (or anyone else), if you want to try a few more wines without blowing the budget, Lindemans has a variety of wines under $7, at least two of which (the Syrah and the Cab) were quite good, and a fantastic value.  I’ve found them at all the major supermarkets, so they shouldn’t be trouble to turn up.

  1. #1 by Joshua on August 30, 2010 - 7:43 PM

    Cool. I’ve at least heard of Lindemans. It’s Oktoberfest season so right now I’m on a beer kick. The recent revival of an old Belgian style called, quite appropriately, Black Ale, has got my interest piqued and I’m sampling the style from many different brewers to get a feel for it. Right now the noteworthy things I can say about it are that is has a light to medium body, medium sweetness, dark color, medium-tan head, and smoky, earthy flavors. Like Scotch Ale but sweeter and less malty.

  2. #2 by Phillip on August 30, 2010 - 8:57 PM

    I’ve never heard of Lindemans, but I’ll keep an eye out. I’ve found a few wines that I’ve liked, but sadly I didn’t make a note of what they were.

    • #3 by Chadwick on August 31, 2010 - 12:13 AM

      Yeah. They’re not the greatest wines I’ve had, but they’re incredibly serviceable, fairly tasty, and the price is right.

Leave a Reply

