I Went Paintballing!

As the title says, I went paintballing. Well, this was last Sunday, I just got around to writing a post about it today. It’s definitely something that I’d do again. It’s a ton more interesting than hunting; you can get shot back here. We played I think 6 games or so, with the last one being one where you can “respawn” (I wonder where they got that term from…) after heading back to the starting point. My team didn’t do too bad, we won all but 1 game, which was kind of impressive considering we were all newbies. I was killed in 2 of them, the first one, and the 2nd to last one. The 2nd to last one was because I marked that guy in 3 other games so it was payback time.

I’ll tell you, paintballs taste horrible, they hurt less when they splat, and they leave HUGE bruises when they hit bone. Oh yeah, they also don’t break as easily as you’d think. I shot one person about 10 times before she decided to call it quits for that round.

Oh yeah, we were in the middle of a forested area about 15 miles from Madison, which didn’t make it too good for us regarding insects. There were literally millions of mosquitoes. They would get under our goggles and just start biting us, and we couldn’t take them off so you had a couple of us with one hand under the goggles trying to swat them and the other hand trying to shoot other people. Needless to say, it didn’t work all that well. But, anyways, when I came back I looked diseased. On one arm alone I counted 67 bites. On my face, you know, under the goggles, I had 6. On my other arm I had 43. They somehow managed to get my back which made it look like I had a chickenpox outbreak. Luckily, they don’t itch almost a week later.

  1. #1 by Joshua on August 29, 2010 - 8:05 AM

    Heh. Sounds like a funtime.

  2. #2 by Joshua on August 29, 2010 - 7:33 PM

    That sounds like something I might actually enjoy doing. Would you mind if I came along next time?

    • #3 by Phillip on August 30, 2010 - 8:52 PM

      It was great fun. I’m planning on heading out there again when there are less mosquitoes. So, either October/November or March next year. That also gives me some time to find my marker.

      But, I’d have no problem with another person.

Leave a Reply

