Weekly Stickies

I have an assload of work to do in my spare time:  I need to solve Drupal’s Event module’s problem with some iCal feeds being one hour off from what’s in the database, I have to design and build a Masonic degree scheduler, and I have to step up with the Church website.  And I still have a full-time job.

  • Right… like I would take career advice from gooey_gooey_skippy@hotmail.fr – he’s clearly a financial success given his e-mail address.

Imbrius’ ASCII Pronunciation Guide:

! – bang (‘dammit’ in vi commands, as in ‘quit, dammit!’)

” – quote

# – hash

$ – dollar

% – percent

& – and

‘ – tick

() – open / close paren

* – star

+ – plus

, – comma

– – dash

. – dot

/ – slash (not ususally pronounced in pathnames)

: – colon

; – semi

<> – left / right angle bracket (also less then and greater than where appropriate)

= – equals

? – ques (read as ‘what’ in CGI URLs and the ECMA ternary conditional operation (in C, C++, Java, etc.))

@ – at

[] – open / close brackets (square brackets where a distinction is needed)

\ – backslash (backwhack in escape sequences)

^ – hat (control in keycodes, circumflex in typesetting)

_ – underscore (ditch when used to mark compiler metalevels)

` – backtick

{} – open / close brace (curly braces where a distinction is needed)

| – pipe

~ – twiddle

  • Lol – I was in dustpuppy’s webmin interface correcting a minor permissions issue and accidentally clicked “unmount” for /var/spool.  Thankfully, it just complained that the spooling daemons (crond, atd, innd, sendmail, and dovecot) were still using it.
  • Get copy of _Anguished English_.
  • Coffee makes me feel neat.  Then it makes me feel strange.  Then it makes me feel shaky and sweaty and panicky.  Then it makes me feel bloaty.  Then it makes me feel sleepy.  Then it makes me feel nauseous.  Then I go back to being normal.  (~ 8 hour cycle)
  • Buy new monitor – either good one for Horde and shift all of them left or buy cheap one for dustpuppy.  It needs a reboot.
  • BRING FRENCH PRESS TO WORKEE!
  • Note to self:  You don’t like cilantro.
  • Driving past Penzey’s Spices every day after work is awesome!

I was playing with Windows 7’s screen reader.  I enabled the “Internet Slang” library and I was reading comics.  One comic (I don’t remember which but it wasn’t one I normally read) had a girl in a bad situation in her life.  The screen reader read the scene thus:

Girl: Mom mom just died, my boyfriend left me, and I might be pregnant!

Girl:  Son of a bitch!  Son of a bitch!  Son of a bitch!

I immediately started laughing my ass off because the “Internet Slang” library was interpreting her loud sobbing as abbreviations for Son of a Bitch.  Now everytime I read a *SOB* in a comic, I’ll read it as Son of a Bitch.

Lol:  “Aww, honey, what’s wrong?”  “My mom just died, you son of a bitch!  My boyfriend left me, you son of a bitch!  I might be pregnant, you son of a bitch!”

It’s like all sad people suddenly get Tourette’s.

Boss:  Why are you late?

Dude:  My dog got run over this morning. Cocksucker!

Boss:  ??

  • The stupid asshat Mexican kids next door were screaming and banging shit until midnight last night.  At 11:00 I finally got up and took a clonazepam (I would’ve taken a dramamine but I was out).  This morning, I’m still a bit groggy (well, duh – clonazepam in an anxiolytic, not a sleep aid) and so I drank a large Stone Creek coffee.  Lack of sleep + leftover benzodiazepine in the bloodstream + sudden large dose of caffeine = very strange mood.
  • The F-4 Phantom:  Proof positive that anything with wings, no matter how poorly engineered, can fly if enough air is moved over the wings.  It’s a model of the Brute Force and Ignorance flight dynamic.
  • The take away from that experiment was that if a project is on the brink of success but held back by small design flaws, the best thing to do is to add more thrust.
  • The Latin name for the common ferret means “angry settled weasel.”  It’s ancestor, the European Polecat is known as the “settled weasel.”
  • Back at Hunter, we had vending machines that gave dollar coins as change but wouldn’t accept them as payment.
  • I’m convinced that our  brand testing environment hates me.  I’ve only ever gotten it to work once.  It works fine for everyone else and even when they get on my machine it works for them but they can even watch me try it and it fails.

http://catb.org/jargon/html/personality.html

This makes total sense and quite accurately describes me.

  • Problem:  The manual for the Valve Hammer Editor says, quite explicitly in the “carve” tool page, to carve only grid aligned rectangular blocks out of other grid-aligned rectangular blocks.  I think, okay.  What if I want to carve out a cylinder?  So I make a big old grid-aligned rectangular block and an 8-sided cylinder primitive.  I do the carve.  Have you ever tried to drill a hole in tempered glass?  Yeah – that’s what happened to my block.  It did a plane clip through the block for each face of the cylinder and a boolean NAND on the area of the block borderd by each adjacent pair of plane clips.  I now had hundreds of block shards placed in a cluster to form the block I started with, minus the cylinder.  So I started again, this time with two rectangular blocks.  I lopped the four corners off of one with the clip tool, then placed the newly-made pseudocylinder inside the larger rectangular block and did the carve.  This time, I got a nice octagonal hole and the same 4 chunks of the block you would have if you did a rectangle carve, but with 8 triangular chunks around the hole to make the octagon.  And I didn’t shatter the original block.  I wonder why Hammer’s “carve” tool is so brain-damaged?

Yesterday, dustpuppy said

******************************

* A new kernel is available. *

* Please schedule a reboot.  *

******************************

Kernel release 2.6.18-194.11.1.el5 is available in /boot.

Current release is 2.6.18-194.8.1.el5.

-root on dustpuppy

I’m reluctant to reboot because I know that the /usr filesystem has issues that will require a console shell (and manual fsck -f) to fix.  Without a monitor, I’d have to guess at what the system was displaying.  And blindly typing commands at a root-level shell (albeit with only a root filesystem mounted and that read-only) doesn’t sound like a good idea to me.

  • As evidenced in Miss Understanding, as naive and child-like as Mort is, even he recognized the inherent suggestion in King Julien’s inquiry as to why Skipper got to wear a pretty pink bow when the King didn’t.
  • On some custom maps on Axl’s TF2, the sentry guns can wallhack in certain spots.  Other times, a melee weapon will clip inappropriately through a barrier where a ranged weapon will not.  On pl_upward, in addition to the well-known BLU spawn exploit, a RED pyro can, by creative use of the taunt feature with the flamethrower selected, clip the end of the weapon through BLU’s gate and actually fire a blast of flame at BLU players before the round starts.  Snipers can always clip the ends of their arrows through gates with the Huntsman’s taunt, skewering whomever is on the other side.

I’ve noted a geeky tendency toward games of geometry, especially golf, apart from the traditional business or social aspects of the games.  Golf is what big bosses do instead of work.  It’s what the peon does with his boss to kiss up to him.  But among geeks (esp. geeks at big businesses), golf is much more about self-competition and putting geometric calculation ability to good practical use.

The same goes for pool / billiards.  The old-fashioned form of billiards as played in England where ones scores points by making cannons – that is, by caroming your cue first into your opponent’s cue, then the object ball and causing the object ball to contact a specific diamond point, is regaining popularity among intelligent folk, even lower-class ones much removed from the professional or competitive cue stick game scene.  I think this has to do with the fact that games are notoriously long and take much concentration.  As such, it more resembles a board game like go or chess than bar room social endeavor.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Phillip on August 23, 2010 - 12:12 PM

    I don’t care for cilantro either. To me it tastes like soap.

    Have you read the book about Skunkworks when they were developing the U-2 and F-117? It’s truly amazing how much brainpower goes into making these things.

    • #2 by Joshua on August 24, 2010 - 5:52 PM

      No. I do frequent dreamlandresort.com and they have a huge historical section on HAVE BLUE, the project that culminated in the F-117.

Leave a Reply

