Oww!!

I had/have another sinus infection. These are seriously getting annoying and quite painful. This last one, if I put any pressure on my tooth it hurts. If there was a sudden temperature change, it hurt. As a matter of fact, if I touch my sinus that’s directly above this tooth, it’s this intense pain for a couple minutes, then it dies into this slow throbbing pain. But at the peak of the pain I was taking some oxycodone to kill the pain and that wasn’t helping at all. I was half contemplating drilling a hole into the sinus because I thought it’d be less painful. I just couldn’t bear with the thought of going through my skin or somehow trying to cut through it.

Anyways, I’m seriously considering the surgery where they’d enlarge the drainage holes and get rid of polyps and all that fun stuff. 3 infections in 2 months is just a bit much for my liking.

  1. #1 by Joshua on August 19, 2010 - 7:37 PM

    I hate sinus infections. I get them all the time too. Mostly though it isn’t infection so much as plugged up and throbbing from the changes in the weather. I get the infections in spring and fall when my allergies make everything run. They gave me some sinus spray junk that doesn’t do anything for me. I never had any pain meds for it though, so I guess I am better off than you. Yeah my doc recommended the surgery too, but I’m a big chicken when it comes to something that drastic. Until it gets too bad I guess I will just suffer. Let me know how you are doing though. I wish you luck.

    • #2 by Phillip on August 23, 2010 - 12:04 PM

      Luckily, since I’ve written this, it’s pretty much gone away. I’m still dealing with the drainage that smells putrid.

      Last year when I had one in the summer time they gave me some antibiotics and told me to take Zyrtec-D for the allergies and to keep it draining.

      Honestly, if it weren’t for the pain, I’d be more okay with having them. I wouldn’t go for the surgery either.

Leave a Reply

